Jérôme Lacour was educated at the École Normale Supérieure (Ulm, Paris). He holds an Agrégation in Physical Sciences (major in Chemistry) and obtained in 1993 his Ph.D. in Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin under the supervision of Prof. Philip D. Magnus. After post-doctoral studies in the laboratory of Prof. David A. Evans at Harvard University, he joined the Organic Chemistry Department of the University of Geneva in 1995. In 2001, he received the Sandoz Family Foundation professorship. Since 2004, he holds a full professor position in the department. Currently, his primary research interests are in asymmetric synthesis, catalysis and chiroptical spectroscopy using organic, physical organic, organometallic and coordination chemistry tools.

Jérôme Lacour teaches general organic chemistry to 1st year chemistry, biology and pharmacy students. He also lectures on physical organic chemistry to 3rd year and graduate students, and on current stereochemistry problems to graduate and postgraduate.



Distinctions, Awards and Prizes

  • Visiting Professorships, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (2024), Nagoya University (2018), University of Bordeaux (2013), Technion - Israel Institute of Technology (2012), École Centrale Marseille (2010), Universities of Strasbourg (2009), Angers and Dijon (2008), Lyon (2000)
  • Dean of the Faculty of Science, University of Geneva (2014-2023)
  • International Organic Chemistry Foundation (IOCF) lectureship, Japan (2014)
  • Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Science, University of Geneva (2010-2014)
  • Editor-in Chief of Chimia(2011-2014)
  • Geneva Chemical Society, President (2010-2013)
  • Chair of “Chirality 2008”, the 20th International Symposium on Chirality
  • Vice-Chair of COST Action D31(2007-2009)
  • Visiting Lecturer, National Science Council, Taiwan(2007)
  • 2006 Holger Erdtman Lecturer (KTH, Sweden)
  • Grammaticakis-Neuman Prize, French Academy of Sciences (2005)
  • Werner Prize and Medal, Swiss Chemical Society (2002)
  • Sandoz Family Foundation Professorship (2001-2004)
  • Synthélabo Postdoctoral Fellowship (1993-1994)
  • Rhône-Poulenc Predoctoral Fellowship (1989-1993)
  • “Ministère de l'Éducation Nationale” Undergraduate and Predoctoral Fellowships (1986-1989)