2018

Cell mutations give rise to brain aneurisms

Using innovating DNA analysis techniques, researchers at UNIGE and at the University of Toronto identified the underlying cause of brain arteriovenous malformations, and provide insight into potential therapies.

page_garde_nikolaev.jpg

© all rights reserved

Sporadic arteriovenous malformations in the brain – a severe type of brain aneurisms – is a leading cause of haemorrhagic stroke in young adults and children. Affecting about 15 in 100 000 people, it consists of an abnormal development of the brain vascular system, potentially occurring during foetal life. By identifying its origin – a somatic mutation in endothelial cells that form the inner layer of blood vessels – researchers at the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, and at the University of Toronto, Canada, show the impact of a somatic mutation and open some avenues to improved treatment. Their results can be read in the New England Journal of Medicine.

Brain arteriovenous malformations (BAVM) are a collection of anomalous vessels of the brain that are thought to develop during foetal life or early childhood. They consist of morphologically abnormal and direct connections between arteries and veins, where capillaries (the smallest type of blood vessels) are missing. When the pressure increases too much, BAVMs can rupture, causing a massive and potentially lethal brain haemorrhage.


“BAVM is primarily of sporadic nature, meaning that there is not a predisposition in families. This however does not mean that there is no genetic basis to it”, explains Sergey Nikolaev, a researcher in Bioinformatics at UNIGE Faculty of Medicine, biologist at the genomics consultation of the Geneva University Hospitals (HUG) and the article’s first author. “We therefore hypothesized that it may be associated with a DNA de novo mutation in brain cells, a mutation which is not present in the germinal cells, thus not inherited.” Another disorder that causes similar lesions, the Capillary malformation-arteriovenous malformation syndrome (CM-AVM), is due to an inherited mutation of the regulator of the KRAS gene (a gene essential to cell signalling in many tissues). Drawing a parallel, the scientists decided to look for brain malformations of BAVM patients that would have the mutation in the same pathway.


A complex DNA analysis methodology


They collected 26 samples from BAVM patients in Toronto, on which they performed DNA exome sequencing, looking for somatic mutations. “KRAS is a gene coding for a protein that performs. We found in some patients a KRAS mutation usually associated with certain types of cancer, such as melanoma. It gave us a first hint of where to look”, recounts Jason Fish of the University of Toronto, study co-author. The scientists used a new technology, called “droplet digital PCR”, which allows for a more precise analysis of DNA molecules. Thanks to it, they were able to identify mutations affecting only a very small proportion of cells present in the brain, the endothelial cells that form the inner layer of blood vessels. Out of their 72 samples from Toronto, Canada and Kuopio, Finland, 45 (62%) turned out positive for KRAS mutation.


Would treatment be possible?


KRAS activates pathways in the endothelial cells which can drive vascular growth. When mutated, it dysregulates angiogenesis and vascular remodelling. When these pathways are activated, the diameter of the vessel increases; consequently, arteries are misconnected with veins, causing an aneurism that can rupture at any time. “Our results show a very likely cause of brain arteriovenous malformations,” points out study last author Ivan Radovanovic, professor of neurosurgery at the University of Toronto, Canada.


“To understand what causes these malformations is a significant advance and it opens some avenues and hope for maybe improving their treatment, adding some options.” Among them, KRAS inhibitors could be tested for their ability to reduce the size of aneurism.


“Our study also suggests a context-dependent role for somatic KRAS mutations:  arteriovenous malformations of the brain are not associated with cancer, and neither is endometriosis, where somatic activating KRAS mutations were also found in a previous study”, concludes Sergey Nikolaev.

14 February 2018
  2018

2018

Une mutation cellulaire à l’origine d’anévrismes cérébraux

Grâce à des techniques d’analyse d’ADN innovantes, des chercheurs de l’UNIGE et de l’Université de Toronto ont identifié la cause sous-jacente  à des malformations artério-veineuses dans  le cerveau, ouvrant la voie à de possibles nouvelles thérapies.

page_garde_nikolaev.jpg

© DR

Les malformations artério-veineuses sporadiques du cerveau – un type grave d’anévrisme cérébral – constituent l’une des principales causes d’hémorragie cérébrale chez les jeunes adultes et les enfants. Affectant une quinzaine de personnes sur 100 000, il s’agit d’un développement anormal du système vasculaire cérébral qui peut survenir lors de la vie fœtale. En identifiant son origine – une mutation somatique des cellules endothéliales qui forment la couche interne des vaisseaux sanguins – des chercheurs de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE), en Suisse, et de l’Université de Toronto, au Canada, montrent l’impact que peut avoir une telle mutation et ouvrent des pistes pour améliorer le traitement. Leurs résultats sont à lire dans le New England Journal of Medicine.

Les malformations artério-veineuses cérébrales (MAV) sont un ensemble de vaisseaux anormaux du cerveau qui se développent au cours de la vie du fœtus ou dans la petite enfance. Elles se caractérisent par des connexions morphologiquement anormales reliant directement les artères et les veines et par une absence de capillaires, les plus petits vaisseaux sanguins. Lorsque la pression augmente trop, les MAV peuvent se rompre, provoquant alors une hémorragie cérébrale massive et potentiellement mortelle.


Les MAV sont essentiellement de nature sporadique, donc sans prédisposition familiale. «Cela ne signifie pas pour autant qu’il n’y a aucune base génétique», explique Sergey Nikolaev, chercheur en bioinformatique à la Faculté de médecine de l’UNIGE, biologiste à la Consultation génomique des Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève et premier auteur de l’article. «Nous avons donc émis l’hypothèse que ces malformations pourraient être associées à une mutation de novo de l’ADN des cellules cérébrales, une mutation absente des cellules germinales, et donc non héréditaire.» Il existe par ailleurs un autre trouble du développement vasculaire qui provoque des lésions similaires – le syndrome de malformation artérioveineuse capillaire – qui est dû à une mutation héréditaire du régulateur du gène KRAS, un gène essentiel à la signalisation cellulaire dans de nombreux tissus. En établissant un parallèle, les scientifiques ont donc décidé de rechercher, chez les patients atteints de MAV, des malformations cérébrales dont les cellules auraient une mutation dans la même voie de signalisation.


Une méthodologie complexe d’analyse d’ADN


Les chercheurs ont prélevé 26 échantillons de patients atteints de MAV à Toronto, puis ont effectué un séquençage de l’exome de l’ADN, à la recherche de mutations somatiques. «Nous avons trouvé chez certains patients une mutation KRAS habituellement associée à certains types de cancer, comme le mélanome. Cela nous a donné une première idée de l’endroit où chercher», raconte Jason Fish de l’Université de Toronto, coauteur de l’étude. Les scientifiques ont ensuite utilisé une technologie novatrice, appelée «PCR numérique par gouttelettes», qui permet une analyse plus précise des molécules d’ADN. Grâce à elle, ils ont pu identifier des mutations n’affectant qu’une très faible proportion de cellules présentes dans le cerveau, les cellules endothéliales qui forment la couche interne des vaisseaux sanguins. Sur les 72 échantillons prélevés à Toronto (Canada), puis à Kuopio (Finlande), 45 (62 %) se sont révélés positifs à la mutation KRAS.


Un traitement serait-il possible?


KRAS active des voies dans les cellules endothéliales qui peuvent stimuler la croissance vasculaire. En cas de mutation, elle dysrégule l’angiogenèse et le remodelage vasculaire. Lorsque ces voies sont activées, le diamètre du vaisseau augmente; par conséquent, les artères sont mal reliées aux veines, ce qui provoque un anévrisme qui peut se rompre à tout moment. «Nos résultats indiquent une cause très probable de malformations artério-veineuses cérébrales», souligne Ivan Radovanovic, professeur de neurochirurgie à l’Université de Toronto. «Comprendre ce qui en est la cause constitue une avancée significative et ouvre des perspectives permettant d’espérer des traitements plus performants. Parmi différentes options, il est maintenant envisageable de tester des inhibiteurs de KRAS afin d’évaluer leur capacité à réduire la taille de l’anévrisme.»
«Notre étude suggère également un rôle contextuel des mutations somatiques du gène KRAS: les malformations artério-veineuses du cerveau ne sont pas associées au cancer, de même que dans le cas de l’endométriose, où des mutations somatiques activantes de KRAS ont également été observées», conclut Sergey Nikolaev.

14 février 2018
  2018