2019

New partners join the Geneva Centre for Philanthropy

Less than two years after its launch, the Geneva Centre for Philanthropy (GCP) welcomes two new strategic partners as it pushes ahead with its rapid expansion.

 

The Leenaards Foundation and the Pictet Group Charitable Foundation have joined the GCP’s circle of strategic partners. The Centre was founded 18 months ago by the University of Geneva (UNIGE) in collaboration with the Edmond de Rothschild Foundations, the Lombard Odier Foundation and a Geneva-based private foundation. The Swiss Life Perspectives Foundation has also become a partner since the summer of 2018. The active participation of these grassroots actors, with their acknowledged excellence in a fast-expanding sector, will strengthen the Centre’s local identity and reflects the genuine needs which it addresses.

 

«The fact that the strategic partners complement each other is a huge asset in the perspective of the GCP’s governance and growth «, points out Henry Peter, Head of the Centre and Professor at the UNIGE Faculty of Law. «The commitment shown by these six Swiss foundations, all key players in the area, demonstrates the Centre’s  crucial role in a rapidly-changing landscape.» The GCP operates at the interface between research and action, drawing on the expertise of UNIGE to strengthen its interdisciplinary approach.

The Centre’s activities focus on building philanthropy training and research, as well as organising events opened to the public at large. Master students in law have already enjoyed a first course, and eight academic fellows have been appointed to carry out researches. Over 300 people took part in a debate on 10 December 2018 on the links between philanthropy, emotions and empathy as part of a conference jointly organised by GCP and the Swiss Center for Affective Sciences (SCAS).

 

An interface on the regional level

«The Leenaards Foundation has chosen to support the Centre’s expansion as an interface at a regional level between practice and research in the philanthropic sector», explains Pierre-Luc Maillefer, Chairman of the Foundation. In signing up to the GCP’s club of strategic partners, the Leenaards Foundation is actively helping to promote good philanthropic practices, an approach that is reflected in its long-standing commitments as part of the SwissFoundations group of charitable associations.

 

A long term vision

«As a private company, we are in a position to think long term,» says Nicolas Pictet, Senior Partner and President of the Pictet Group Charitable Foundation. «We’re privileged in that our purpose is to help our clients, and because we can see the financial benefits not as an end in itself but as the reflection of a job well done. We’re driven by the same concern regarding society as a whole. In addition to the jobs we provide, and above and beyond the taxes we pay, we have to be useful, and philanthropy is an expression of this. That’s why we’re proud and happy to have teamed up with the Geneva Centre for Philanthropy»

 

About the Leenaards Foundation

The Leenaards Foundation, which operates in the Lake Geneva region, aims to stimulate initiatives that anticipate, challenge and keep pace with the fast-moving changes taking place in society. The Foundation’s three areas of action are culture, age and society (the quality of life of older people) and science. The Foundation helps actors in these fields devise creative and innovative projects, with particular emphasis on projects that promote the common good and social cohesion.

 

About the Pictet Group Charitable Foundation

The Pictet Group Charitable Foundation was established in 2009 with the aim of formalising the approach to charitable and philanthropic work under-taken by Pictet’s Partners. A foundation under Swiss law recognised as serving the public interest, it is chaired by the Senior Partner of the Pictet Group. Its main purpose is to provide financial support to charitable organisations and public interest projects in Switzerland and abroad. In Switzerland, the Chari-table Foundation’s work is focused on health and medical research, the arts and social welfare projects. Elsewhere, it helps to fund projects that benefit disadvantaged communities in developing countries, with a focus on emer-gency humanitarian aid, as well as youth and education projects.

January 21, 2019
  2019

2019

De nouveaux partenaires pour le Centre en philanthropie

Moins de 2 ans après son lancement, le Geneva Centre for Philanthropy (GCP) poursuit son développement rapide et accueille deux nouveaux partenaires stratégiques.

 

La Fondation Leenaards et la Fondation de bienfaisance du groupe Pictet rejoignent le cercle des partenaires stratégiques du Geneva Centre for Philanthropy (GCP), créé il y a 18 mois par l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) en partenariat avec les Fondations Edmond de Rothschild, la Fondation Lombard Odier et une fondation privée genevoise. La fondation « Perspectives » de Swiss Life y est également associée depuis l’été 2018. Cette dynamique de la part d’acteurs de terrains, reconnus pour leur excellence dans un secteur en plein développement, renforce l’identité lémanique du Centre et témoigne des besoins réels auxquels il répond.

 

«La complémentarité des partenaires stratégiques est un réel atout pour la gouvernance et la croissance du GCP», souligne son directeur Henry Peter, professeur à la Faculté de droit de l’UNIGE. «L’engagement de ces six fondations suisses, acteurs clefs du secteur, démontre la pertinence du Centre dans un paysage en forte évolution.» Interface entre la recherche et l’action, le GCP s’appuie sur la polyvalence de l’UNIGE qui nourrit son approche interdisciplinaire.

Son action se concentre sur le développement de la formation et de la recherche en matière de philanthropie, ainsi que sur l’organisation d’événements ouverts à la Cité. Les étudiants de master en droit ont ainsi déjà profité d’un premier cours et huit academic fellows ont été nommés pour mener des travaux de recherche. Le 10 décembre dernier, plus de 300 participants se sont retrouvés pour débattre des liens entre philanthropie, émotions et empathie, dans le cadre d’une conférence co-organisée par le GCP et le Centre interdisciplinaire en sciences affectives (CISA).

 

Interface lémanique

«La Fondation Leenaards a choisi de soutenir le développement de ce Centre en sa qualité d’interface lémanique entre la pratique et la recherche au sein du secteur philanthropique» , explique le président de la Fondation, Pierre-Luc Maillefer. En rejoignant le cercle des partenaires stratégiques du GCP, la Fondation Leenaards participe activement à l’essor des bonnes pratiques philanthropiques, à l’image de son engagement depuis plusieurs années au sein de l’association des fondations d’utilité publique SwissFoundations.

 

Vision à long terme

«Etant une entreprise privée, nous pouvons penser à long terme», relève pour sa part Nicolas Pictet, associé senior et président de la Fondation de bienfaisance du groupe Pictet. « Nous avons le privilège d’avoir pour but d’être utiles à nos clients et de pouvoir considérer les bénéfices non comme une fin en soi mais comme l’expression d’un travail bien fait. Le même souci nous anime vis-à-vis de la société en général. Au-delà des emplois que nous fournissons, au-delà des impôts que nous payons, nous devons être utiles; la philanthropie en est l’une des expressions. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous sommes fiers et heureux d’avoir rejoint le « Geneva Centre for Philanthropy », conclut Nicolas Pictet.

 

A propos de la Fondation Leenaards

Active dans l’arc lémanique, la Fondation Leenaards cherche à stimuler des initiatives susceptibles d’anticiper, de questionner et d’accompagner les mutations rapides de la société. Dans ses trois domaines d’actions – culturel, âge & société (qualité de vie des seniors) et scientifique – la Fondation soutient des acteurs à même de développer des projets créatifs et innovants, avec une attention particulière portée aux projets favorisant le bien commun et la cohésion sociale.

 

A propos de de la Fondation de bienfaisance du groupe Pictet

La Fondation de bienfaisance du groupe Pictet a été créée en 2009 dans le but de donner un cadre institutionnel à la tradition philanthropique des associés de Pictet. Fondation de droit suisse reconnue d’intérêt public, elle est présidée par l’associé senior du groupe Pictet. Elle a pour mission principale de soutenir financièrement des organisations à but caritatif ainsi que des projets d’intérêt général, en Suisse et à l’étranger. En Suisse, la Fondation concentre son activité sur la santé et la recherche médicale, la culture et l’action sociale. Enfin, la Fondation apporte une aide financière à de nombreux projets réalisés au profit de communautés défavorisées dans des pays en développement, et mettant l’accent sur l’aide humanitaire d’urgence, la jeunesse ou l’éducation.

21 janvier 2019
  2019