2019

WHO modifies its recommendations on HIV

The first results of the NAMSAL study, conducted by Swiss, French and Cameroonian teams, have enabled WHO to revise its AIDS treatment recommendations to better adapt them to the most diverse contexts.

page_garde_calmy.jpg

© All rights reserved

Until very recently, the World Health Organization (WHO) recommended two drugs  – dolutegravir and efavirenz  – for the treatment of HIV infection. However, these two treatments had never been compared to each other under the conditions usually encountered in countries heavily affected by HIV. Conducted jointly by the University of Geneva (UNIGE) and the University Hospitals of Geneva (HUG) in Switzerland, the Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD) in France and the Central Hospital of Yaoundé in Cameroon among 613 patients from various Cameroonian hospitals, the NAMSAL study now removes this ambiguity. If the two molecules lower patients’ viral load equally, the risk of drug-induced resistance is much lower with dolutegravir, an essential benefit both in terms of public health and individual health. These results, to be read in the New England Journal of Medicine, provided WHO with the first solid data on this subject. They also highlight the need to conduct high quality studies among the populations concerned, rather than only on patients living in high-income countries, despite the operational complexities of such studies.

Many antiretroviral drugs are available on the market to reduce HIV viral load (the number of viruses per ml of blood) to an undetectable level. Among the treatments often used, efavirenz, which exists since 1998, and the most recent dolutegravir, introduced in 2013. “While the two drugs are well known, they had never been compared to each other in low-income countries”, says Professor Alexandra Calmy, Vice-Dean of the UNIGE Faculty of Medicine in charge of international and humanitarian medicine and head of the HUG HIV/AIDS Unit, who participated in this work. “We have therefore decided to do so, with the support of ANRS and UNITAID, in order to base international recommendations on solid evidence.”


A double-blind study

The NAMSAL study (New Antiretroviral and Monitoring Strategies in HIV-infected Adults in Low-income countries) took place in Cameroon between July 2016 and October 2018. 613 individuals with HIV who had never received treatment were randomly assigned to one of the two recommended therapies: a daily dose of dolutegravir or a 400 mg dose of efavirenz (a lighter dose than the usual 600mg dose to reduce adverse reactions), in combination with two other molecules (triple therapy). While the results in terms of viral load after 48 months of treatment are similar between the two groups – about three-quarters of patients have seen their viral load drop to an undetectable level– the difference resides in viral resistance for patients for whom the treatment has not worked as desired. “Dolutegravir does not cause resistance mutations in the virus and therefore makes it possible to opt for other treatments”, says Eric Delaporte, a professor at the University Hospital of Montpellier and the IRD, who led this work. “Efavirenz, on the other hand, has triggered important resistance mechanisms, which can be problematic: people are then more difficult to treat and may also transmit a much stronger virus to others.”


Taking into account populations’ specificities

In addition, the results of the NAMSAL study show that the effect of both drugs on viral load is less than expected. “Clinical trials conducted for marketing authorization take place on Western patients, the vast majority of whom are men, who also benefit from early detection and general good health”, explains Dr. Charles Kouanfack, of Yaoundé Central Hospital and the first author of this work. “Our patients are very different: two-thirds of them are women who are screened late, and therefore present a very high initial viral load, and who often receive little medical follow-up. The treatments then take longer to work.”


Scientific data essential to WHO

These results illustrate the importance of such studies in the development of international recommendations. “We must have data that are representative of the populations receiving treatment in all their diversity and not select the people included in the studies according to criteria that are too narrow”, says Alexandra Calmy, who is also a WHO expert in the field of HIV/AIDS, as well as Professor Delaporte. “I would also like to stress the importance of not excluding women from clinical trials, especially when they constitute the majority of patients.” Without these data, WHO could not recommend one drug over another. Today, the UN agency clearly recommends dolutegravir for the reasons detailed in the study. The update of its recommendations, made in August 2019 following the publication of this work, will now allow countries and funding agencies to negotiate attractive prices with generic manufacturers of dolutegravir and combinations based on this molecule.

This work also illustrates Geneva’s expertise in this field, as well as the emphasis placed by the UNIGE and the HUG on global health. Indeed, both Geneva institutions have mechanisms to encourage research and education in low-income countries and frequently participate in the work of international and humanitarian organizations present in Geneva.

The NAMSAL study is funded by Unitaid and ANRS-France Recherche Nord&Sud Sida-HIV Hépatites.


September 24, 2019
  2019

2019

L’OMS modifie ses recommandations sur le VIH

Les premiers résultats de l’étude NAMSAL, menée par des équipes suisses, françaises et camerounaises, permettent à l’OMS de réviser ses recommandations de traitement du virus du sida pour mieux les adapter aux contextes les plus variés.

page_garde_calmy.jpg

© DR

Jusqu’à très récemment, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) recommandait indifféremment deux médicaments – le dolutégravir et l’éfavirenz – pour le traitement de l’infection au VIH. Or, ces deux traitements n’avaient jamais été comparés l’un à l’autre dans les conditions habituellement rencontrées dans les pays fortement touchés par le VIH . Menée conjointement par l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) et les Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève (HUG) en Suisse, l’Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD) en France et l’Hôpital Central de Yaoundé au Cameroun auprès de 613 patients de divers centres hospitaliers camerounais, l’étude NAMSAL permet aujourd’hui de lever cette ambiguïté. Si les deux molécules font baisser la charge virale des patients de manière presque équivalente, le risque d’apparition de résistance au traitement est plus faible avec le dolutégravir. Ces résultats, à lire dans le New England Journal of Medicine, ont ainsi fourni à l’OMS les premières données solides sur ce sujet. Ils mettent également en lumière la nécessité de mener des études de haute qualité au sein des populations concernées, plutôt qu’uniquement sur des patients vivant dans des pays à haut revenu, et ce malgré les complexités opérationnelles de telles études.

Il existe sur le marché de nombreux médicaments antirétroviraux utilisés pour faire baisser la charge virale du VIH (soit le nombre de virus par ml de sang) à un niveau indétectable ; parmi les traitements souvent utilisés, l’éfavirenz, qui existe depuis 1998, et le plus récent dolutégravir, mis sur le marché en 2013. «Si les deux médicaments sont bien connus, ils n’avaient jamais été comparés l’un à l’autre dans les pays à faible revenu,» souligne la professeure Alexandra Calmy, vice-doyenne de la Faculté de médecine de l’UNIGE en charge de la médecine internationale et humanitaire et responsable de l’Unité VIH/Sida des HUG, qui a participé à ces travaux. «Nous avons donc décidé de le faire avec le soutien de l’ANRS et de l’Unitaid, afin de fonder les recommandations internationales sur des preuves solides.»


Une étude en double aveugle

L’étude NAMSAL (pour New Antiretroviral and Monitoring Strategies in HIV-infected Adults in Low-income countries) s’est déroulée au Cameroun entre juillet 2016 et octobre 2018. 613 individus porteurs du VIH, mais n’ayant jamais reçu de traitement, ont été assignés de manière aléatoire à l’une des deux thérapies recommandées: une dose quotidienne de dolutégravir ou une dose de 400 mg d’éfavirenz (une dose plus légère que la dose habituelle de 600mg afin de diminuer les effets indésirables), en combinaison avec deux autres molécules (trithérapie). Si les résultats en termes de charge virale après 48 mois de traitement sont similaires entre les deux groupes – environ trois-quarts des patients ont vu leur charge virale baisser à un niveau indétectable –, la différence se situe au niveau des résistances du virus chez les patients pour qui le traitement n’a pas fonctionné comme souhaité. «Le dolutégravir n’engendre pas de mutation de résistance chez le virus et permet donc d’opter pour d’autres traitements, souligne Eric Delaporte, professeur à l’Hôpital universitaire de Montpellier et à l’IRD, qui a dirigé ces travaux. L’éfavirenz a par contre déclenché d’importants mécanismes de résistance, ce qui peut s’avérer problématique : les personnes concernées sont ensuite plus difficiles à soigner et risquent en outre de transmettre à d’autres personnes un virus beaucoup plus fort.»


Prendre en compte les spécificités des populations

Les résultats de l’étude NAMSAL montrent que l’effet des deux médicaments sur la charge virale est moindre qu’escompté. «Les essais cliniques menés en vue de l’autorisation de mise sur le marché sont conduits sur des patients occidentaux, des hommes dans leur très grande majorité, qui bénéficient en outre d’un dépistage précoce et d’un bon état de santé général,» explique le Dr Charles Kouanfack, de l’Hôpital central de Yaoundé et premier auteur de ces travaux. «Nos patients sont très différents : deux-tiers sont des femmes dépistées tardivement, et donc avec une charge virale au départ très élevée, qui ne bénéficient bien souvent que de peu de suivi médical. Les traitements mettent alors plus de temps pour agir.»


Des données scientifiques indispensables à l’OMS

Ces résultats illustrent l’importance de telles études dans l’élaboration de recommandations internationales. «Il faut disposer de données représentatives des populations destinataires des traitements dans toute leur diversité et ne pas sélectionner les personnes incluses dans les études en fonction de critères trop réducteurs,» indique Alexandra Calmy, qui est aussi experte auprès de l’OMS dans le domaine du VIH/sida, tout comme le professeur Delaporte. «J’aimerais aussi souligner l’importance de ne pas exclure les femmes des essais cliniques, en particulier quand elles constituent la majorité des patients concernés.» Sans ces données, l’OMS ne pouvait ainsi pas recommander un médicament plutôt qu’un autre. Aujourd’hui, l’agence onusienne recommande clairement le dolutégravir, pour les raisons détaillées dans l’étude. La mise à jour de ses recommandations, effectuée en juillet 2019 suite à la publication de ces travaux, permettra maintenant aux pays et aux agences de financement de négocier des tarifs intéressants auprès des fabricants génériques du dolutégravir et des combinaisons basées sur cette molécule.

Ces travaux illustrent en outre l’expertise genevoise en la matière, ainsi que l’accent mis par l’UNIGE et les HUG sur la santé mondiale. En effet, les deux institutions genevoises disposent de mécanismes d’encouragement à la recherche et à l’éducation dans les pays à faiblerevenu et participent fréquemment aux travaux des organisations internationales et humanitaires présentes à Genève.

L’étude NAMSAL est financée par Unitaid et l’ANRS-France Recherche Nord&Sud Sida-HIV Hépatites.

24 septembre 2019
  2019