2021

The young plant’s pantry does more than just feed it

A UNIGE team has observed that the role of plant tissue – called endosperm – is not only to feed the seed but is crucial for the development and protection of young plants.

RP4-1.jpg

The endosperm (in brown on the left picture, and absent on the right picture) is necessary for the good development of the seedling. © UNIGE

The endosperm, the tissue surrounding the plant embryo in the seed, has long been perceived as a nourishing tissue that is abandoned once the transition to the seedling is complete. A Swiss team, led by scientists from the University of Geneva (UNIGE), has now shown that the endosperm also plays a key role in the proper development of the seedling after germination. It acts notably on the formation of the cuticle, a protective layer essential for the survival of plants. Biologists found that these new functions attributed to the endosperm are independent of its capacity to provide nutrients and are mediated by the production of specific molecules. This work can be read in the journal Developmental Cell.

Seeds are composed of three parts: the embryo, which will develop into a seedling, the endosperm and the seed coat, which is the outer protective envelope. The endosperm, which contains nutrients and is often compared to the placenta of mammals, can occupy the largest volume of the seed. This is the case for wheat, rice, corn and other seeds whose endosperm is an essential part of the human diet. Nevertheless, in some flowering plants, the nutrient reserves are mainly in the embryo while the endosperm is a minor component of the seed. This raises the question of the biological role of this tissue in these species and in particular in the seeds of Arabidopsis thaliana, a model organism for research in plants.
The group of Luis Lopez-Molina, professor in the Department of Botany and Plant Biology at the Faculty of Science of the UNIGE, is interested in the control of germination. His laboratory had shown that the endosperm plays a role in the development, rather than the nutrition of the plant, by controlling germination. Indeed, as long as the conditions are not favorable to the seedling, germination is blocked, and the seed remains dormant under the effect of a plant hormone produced by the endosperm.


Without endosperm, the seedling dies

Biologists investigated further the biological function of the endosperm by exploring whether it could control additional developmental processes during the seed/seedling transition. They dissected Arabidopsis seeds at different stages of germination to isolate the embryos. The team found that in the absence of the endosperm tissue, the embryos produce abnormal seedlings that stop growing very early, being unable to develop either a functional photosynthetic apparatus or root, even if nutrients were added to the culture medium. In contrast, embryos extracted from seeds at the same stage, but deposited on a bed of endosperm modified not to produce nutrients, develop normally. “These observations indicate that the endosperm influences the development of the seedling, independently of the nourishing role usually attributed to it”, comments Julien De Giorgi, researcher in the Department of Botany and Plant Biology and first author of the study.


The endosperm, necessary and sufficient to form the cuticle

Seedling development encompasses many processes, and the scientists focused on one of them: the development of the seedling cuticle. This waterproof waxy layer on the stem and leaves, protects the plant from stresses such as dehydration by preventing water evaporation, or pathogen attack. The authors of the study showed that the cuticle forms rapidly during the seed/seedling transition, but only if the endosperm is present. Through biochemical, microscopy and genetic analyses, the team of biologists have identified two molecules produced by the endosperm involved in this process.

“Beyond its active role in cuticle formation, our observations indicate that the endosperm releases other molecules that orchestrate different aspects of seedling development. Uncovering this new role of the endosperm raises questions about its function, beyond nutrition, during the evolution of flowering plants. The identification of the molecules released by the endosperm allowing the proper development of the seedling is also of potential interest for agronomy”, concludes Luis Lopez-Molina.

October 26, 2021
  2021

2021

Le garde-manger de la jeune plante la protège

Une équipe de l’UNIGE a observé que le rôle du tissu végétal – nommé endosperme – ne se résume pas à nourrir la graine, mais est capital pour le développement et la protection des jeunes plantes.

RP4-1.jpg

L’endosperme (en marron sur l’image de gauche, et absent sur l’image de droite) est nécessaire au bon développement de la plantule. © UNIGE

L’endosperme, tissu entourant l’embryon de la plante dans la graine, a longtemps été perçu comme un tissu nourricier délaissé une fois achevée la transition vers la jeune plante – dite plantule. Une équipe suisse, dirigée par des scientifiques de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE), montre aujourd’hui que l’endosperme joue également un rôle primordial pour le bon développement de la plantule après la germination. Il agit notamment sur la formation de la cuticule, cette couche protectrice essentielle pour la survie des végétaux. Les biologistes observent que ces nouvelles fonctions attribuées à l’endosperme sont indépendantes de sa capacité à fournir les nutriments et sont médiées par la production de molécules spécifiques. Ces travaux sont à lire dans la revue Developmental Cell.

Les graines sont composées de trois parties: l’embryon, qui se transformera en une plantule, l’endosperme (ou albumen chez les plantes à fleurs) et le tégument qui constitue l’enveloppe protectrice externe. L’endosperme, composé notamment d’éléments nutritifs et souvent comparé au placenta des mammifères, peut constituer l’essentiel de la graine non germée. C’est le cas du blé, du riz, du maïs et d’autres graines dont l’endosperme représente une part essentielle de l’alimentation humaine. Néanmoins, chez certaines plantes à fleurs, les réserves nutritives sont majoritairement dans l’embryon tandis que l’endosperme occupe une partie mineure de la graine. Ceci soulève la question du rôle biologique de ce tissu dans ces espèces et notamment dans les graines d’Arabidopsis thaliana (l’Arabette des dames), organisme modèle pour les recherches chez les plantes.

Le groupe de Luis Lopez-Molina, professeur au Département de botanique et biologie végétale de la Faculté des sciences de l’UNIGE, s’intéresse au contrôle de la germination. Son laboratoire avait notamment montré que l’endosperme jouait un rôle dans le développement, plutôt que dans la nutrition de la plante, en contrôlant la germination. En effet, tant que les conditions ne sont pas favorables à la plantule, la germination est bloquée et la graine reste dormante sous l’effet d’une hormone végétale produite par l’endosperme.


Sans endosperme, la plantule meurt

Les biologistes ont souhaité investiguer si l’endosperme pouvait contrôler d’autres processus développementaux pendant cette transition graine/plantule. Ils/elles ont disséqué des graines d’Arabidopsis thaliana à différents stades de germination pour en extraire les embryons. L’équipe a constaté qu’en l’absence du tissu de l’endosperme, les embryons produisent des plantules anormales qui s’arrêtent très tôt dans leur croissance, étant incapables de développer ni d’appareil photosynthétique, ni de racines, et ce même si des nutriments sont ajoutés dans le milieu de culture. En revanche, des embryons extraits de graines au même stade, mais qui sont déposés sur un lit d’endosperme modifié pour ne pas produire d’éléments nutritifs, se développent normalement. «Ces observations indiquent que l’endosperme influence le développement de la plantule, indépendamment du rôle nourricier qui lui est habituellement attribué», commente Julien De Giorgi, chercheur au Département de botanique et biologie végétale et premier auteur de l’étude.


L’endosperme, nécessaire et suffisant pour former la cuticule

Le développement de la plantule englobe de nombreux processus et les scientifiques se sont focalisés sur l’un d’entre eux: le développement de la cuticule de la plantule. Cette couche cireuse imperméable sur la tige et les feuilles protège la plante contre des stress, tels que la déshydratation en empêchant l’évaporation de l’eau, ou l’attaque de pathogènes. Les auteur-es de cette étude ont montré que la cuticule se forme rapidement durant la transition graine/plantule, mais uniquement si l’endosperme est présent. Grâce à des analyses biochimiques, microscopiques et génétiques, les biologistes ont identifié deux molécules produites par l’endosperme impliquées dans ce processus.

«Au-delà de son rôle actif dans la formation de la cuticule, nos observations indiquent que l’endosperme libère d’autres molécules qui orchestrent différents aspects du développement de la plantule. La mise en lumière de ce nouveau rôle de l’endosperme soulève des questions sur sa fonction, au-delà de la nutrition, durant l’évolution des plantes à fleurs. L’identification des molécules relâchées par l’endosperme permettant le bon développement de la plantule a également un intérêt potentiel pour le domaine agronomique», conclut Luis Lopez-Molina.

26 octobre 2021
  2021