2021

Endocrine disruptors threatens semen quality

Scientists from UNIGE and IRSET have established a link between poor semen quality in adult men and their mothers’ occupational exposure to endocrine disruptors during pregnancy.

page_garde_EN_Nef.jpg

Endocrine disruptors, such as certain pesticides, heavy metals and phthalates, are associated with poorer sperm quality in men in adulthood, if the mother was exposed to them during pregnancy. © UNIGE

A growing number of studies show that the environmental factors and lifestyle habits of pregnant women play an important role in the health of their child. But how about the semen quality of young men? Researchers at the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, showed two years ago that only 38% of Swiss men had semne parameters above the thresholds set by the World Health Organisation (WHO) for fertile men. Epidemiologists from the Institut de recherche en santé, environnement et travail (IRSET, Rennes, France), in collaboration with the UNIGE team analyzed the potential impact of endocrine disruptors on  semen quality of men whose mothers were working at the early stages of their pregnancy. Their results, published in the journal Human Reproduction, show that men who have been exposed in utero to products known to contain endocrine disruptors are twice more likely to have semen volume and total sperm count per ejaculation below the reference values set by the WHO.

Endocrine disrupters are chemical substances of natural or synthetic origin which can interfere with the endocrine system and causes adverse health effects in an organism, or its progeny, according to the World Health Organization (WHO). “Several animal studies have already shown that gestational exposure to certain endocrine disruptors can influence the development of the male reproductive system, as well as the sperm production and semen quality in adulthood,” explains Ronan Garlantézec, a researcher at the IRSET, the Rennes University Hospital Centre (CHU) and University of Rennes 1. “In view of the results obtained by  Serge Nef’s team on the semen  quality of young Swiss men, we were interested in studying the potential effect of exposure to endocrine disruptors during pregnancy as one out of many possible reasons behind the observed trends”, he continues.


The semen of more than 1000 conscripts analysed

The team of Serge Nef, professor at the Department of Genetic Medicine and Development of the UNIGE Faculty of Medicine, has evaluated semen quality of around 3000 conscripts, 1045 out of which had their mother working during pregnancy. “For each of them, a semen quality analysis was carried out to determine the semen volume, as well as the sperm concentration, motility and morphology,” explains the Serge Nef. “A detailed questionnaire was also sent to the parents before the semen analysis was carried out, covering in particular the maternal jobs exerted during the conscripts’ pregnancy period.”

This allowed for the analysis of semen parameters of men whose mothers were employed during their pregnancy. “The maternal jobs were classified according to the International Classification of Occupations (ISCO-88 of the International Labour Office of the WHO),” explains Luc Multigner, research director at the IRSET. “Exposure to products containing endocrine disruptors during pregnancy has been defined using a job-exposure matrix, which makes it possible to attribute the maternal exposure a probability score.” This has enabled epidemiologists to establish probabilities of exposure to one or more categories of products that may contain endocrine disruptors according to the mother’s occupation.


Endocrine disruptors associated with poorer sperm quality

The results of this study show that young men exposed in utero to endocrine disruptors are twice as likely to have values below the reference values established by the WHO, both in terms of the semen volume (threshold at 2 ml) and the total number of spermatozoa per ejaculation (40 million). “In our study, the products most associated with these anomalies were pesticides, phthalates and heavy metals”, notes Ronan Garlantézec.

“These observations do not determine the future fertility of young men, and only a follow-up over time will make it possible to assess the consequences. Nevertheless, the results could explain, at least in part, the low semen quality of some young Swiss men”, Serge Nef continues. An additional study is already planned in this same population to study the link between maternal occupational exposure to endocrine disruptors and changes in sexual hormones during adulthood.


Preventing exposure to endocrine disruptors

The results of this study suggest an association between the mother’s occupational exposure to endocrine disruptors and a decrease in several semen parameters in their children during adulthood. “It therefore appears necessary to inform women planning to conceive and during their early stages of pregnancy of the potential hazards of exposure to these substances, which could alter their children’s fertility”, underlines Luc Multigner. “Similarly, it would be interesting to carry out a similar study in women, in order to evaluate whether the impact of endocrine disruptors is the same on the female reproductive system, although this is much more complex to carry out”, explains Ronan Garlantézec. Finally, the data concerns mothers 25 years ago. Since then, the professions exerted by women have greatly evolved, as has the presence of endocrine disruptors in the products used. “Hence the crucial preventive role of this study”, concludes Serge Nef.

March 18, 2021
  2021

2021

Les perturbateurs endocriniens menacent la qualité du sperme

Des scientifiques de l’UNIGE et de l’IRSET établissent un lien entre la mauvaise qualité du sperme chez l’homme adulte et l’exposition professionnelle de sa mère aux perturbateurs endocriniens pendant sa grossesse.

page_garde_Nef.png

Des perturbateurs endocriniens, comme certains pesticides, métaux lourds et phtalates, sont associés à une moins bonne qualité spermatique des hommes à l’âge adulte, si la mère y a été exposée lors de sa grossesse. © UNIGE

De plus en plus d’études montrent que l’environnement et les conditions de vie de la femme enceinte jouent un rôle charnière sur la santé de l’enfant. Mais qu’en est-il concernant la fertilité des jeunes hommes? Des chercheurs/euses de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) ont montré il y a deux ans que seuls 38% des Suisses avaient des paramètres spermatiques supérieurs aux normes établies par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) pour les hommes fertiles. Pourquoi? Des épidémiologistes de l’Institut de recherche en santé, environnement et travail (IRSET, Rennes, France) se sont associé-es à l’équipe genevoise afin d’analyser l’impact potentiel des perturbateurs endocriniens sur la qualité du sperme des hommes dont les mères travaillaient au début de leur grossesse. Leurs résultats, publiés dans la revue Human Reproduction, relèvent que les hommes qui ont été exposés in utero à des produits ou préparations connues pour contenir des perturbateurs endocriniens ont deux fois plus de risque de se situer en-dessous des normes limites établies par l’OMS quant au volume séminal et au nombre total de spermatozoïdes par éjaculation.

Les perturbateurs endocriniens sont des substances chimiques d’origine naturelle ou artificielle, étrangères à l’organisme, qui peuvent interférer avec le fonctionnement du système endocrinien et induire des effets délétères sur un organisme ou sur sa progéniture, selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). «Plusieurs études chez l’animal ont déjà montré que l’exposition gestationnelle à certains perturbateurs endocriniens pouvait influencer le développement de l’appareil reproducteur masculin, ainsi que la production et la qualité du sperme à l’âge adulte», explique Ronan Garlantézec, chercheur à l’IRSET, au Centre hospitalier universitaire (CHU) de Rennes et à l’Université de Rennes 1. «Au vu des résultats de la recherche de l’équipe de Serge Nef sur la qualité du sperme des jeunes hommes suisses, nous nous sommes intéressés au rôle potentiel joué par les perturbateurs endocriniens chez la femme enceinte comme source possible de ces résultats», poursuit-il.


Le sperme de plus de 1000 conscrits analysé

L’équipe de Serge Nef, professeur au Département de médecine génétique et développement de la Faculté de médecine de l’UNIGE, a passé au crible la qualité du sperme de 1045 conscrits suisses. «Pour chacun d’entre eux, nous avons réalisé un spermogramme pour mesurer le volume de l’éjaculation, ainsi que la quantité, la mobilité et la morphologie des spermatozoïdes, explique le chercheur genevois. Un questionnaire professionnel a également été envoyé aux parents avant la réalisation du spermogramme, portant notamment sur les emplois exercés au cours de la période de la grossesse des conscrits.»

Ceci a permis d’analyser plus précisément les résultats des spermogrammes des hommes dont la mère exerçait une activité professionnelle lors de sa grossesse, activité qui pouvait potentiellement l’exposer à des perturbateurs endocriniens. «Les emplois des mères ont été classés selon la Classification internationale du type des professions (CITP-88 du Bureau international du travail de l’OMS), explique Luc Multigner, directeur de recherche à l’IRSET. L’exposition à des produits ou préparations contenant des perturbateurs endocriniens pendant la grossesse a été définie, quant à elle, à l’aide d’une matrice emploi-exposition, permettant d’attribuer des scores de probabilité d’exposition.» Ceci a permis aux épidémiologistes d’établir des probabilités d’exposition à une ou plusieurs catégories de produits pouvant contenir des perturbateurs endocriniens en fonction des métiers des mères, tout en dissociant l’impact d’autres facteurs de risque, comme le tabac, l’indice de masse corporel ou le délai d’abstinence.


Les perturbateurs endocriniens associés à une moins bonne  qualité spermatique

Les résultats de cette étude montrent que les jeunes hommes exposés in utero à des perturbateurs endocriniens ont deux fois plus de risque d’être en dessous des seuils standards de qualité établis par l’OMS, tant au niveau du volume de sperme par éjaculation (seuil à 2 ml) qu’au nombre total de spermatozoïdes par éjaculation (40 millions). «Dans notre étude, les produits les plus associés avec ces anomalies étaient les pesticides, phtalates et métaux lourds», relève Ronan Garlantézec.

«Ces observations ne préjugent pas de la fertilité future des jeunes hommes, et seul un suivi au cours du temps permettra d’en évaluer les conséquences. Néanmoins, les résultats pourraient expliquer, au moins en partie, la moindre qualité du sperme des jeunes suisses», continue Serge Nef. Une étude complémentaire est d’ores et déjà prévue dans cette même population pour étudier le lien entre l’exposition professionnelle maternelle aux perturbateurs endocriniens et les modifications d’hormones sexuelles à l’âge adulte.


Prévenir l’exposition aux perturbateurs endocriniens

Les résultats de cette étude suggèrent une association entre l’exposition professionnelle de la mère aux perturbateurs endocriniens et une diminution de plusieurs paramètres du sperme chez leurs enfants à l’âge adulte. «Il apparait donc nécessaire d’informer les femmes en recherche de conception et en tout début de grossesse des dangers potentiels d’une exposition à ces substances pendant la grossesse, qui pourrait altérer la fertilité de leurs enfants», souligne Luc Multigner. «De même, il serait intéressant de  réaliser une étude similaire chez les femmes, afin de vérifier si l’impact des perturbateurs endocriniens est le même sur le système reproducteur féminin, bien que cela soit beaucoup plus complexe à réaliser», explique Ronan Garlantézec. Enfin, les données concernent des mères il y a 25 ans. Depuis, les métiers exercés par les femmes ont grandement évolué, tout comme la présence des perturbateurs endocriniens dans les produits employés. «D’où le rôle de prévention capital de cette étude», conclut Serge Nef.

18 mars 2021
  2021