Environmental biogeochemistry and ecotoxicology

professor Vera Slaveykova


The research in the laboratory of Environmental Biogeochemistry and Ecotoxicology aims to improve the understanding, at the molecular level, of the basic processes that govern the behavior of toxic trace metals and purposely made nanoparticles in the aquatic systems, from their input to the site of biological action. The emphasis is on the development of innovative concepts and new state-of-the-art-tools to study their interactions with various biotic and abiotic constituents of aquatic systems. A unifying concept of this broad scope research is bioavailability that allows for relating different processes at the medium organisms’ interfaces with biological effects on a specific (micro)organism, population or community, as well as to account for the role of different physicochemical and biological factors affecting temporal and spatial variation in biological availability and effects.

The present research is focused on the biogeochemistry and ecotoxicology of Hg, Cd, Cu, Pb, different metal containing nanoparticles in freshwater, marine and coastal waters. The research approach combines experimentation in the laboratory to recreate and understand the key process at the medium/ biota interface, field experimentation to validate these results; modeling, risk assessment and mapping. A large variety of methods and tools are used, taken from different disciplines, ranging from analytical and environmental chemistry, ecotoxicology, molecular biology and modelling.

The long term goal of this fundamental and issue -driven research is to apply this fundamental knowledge to anticipate the combined effects of global change and  physical-chemical stress on the water quality, to foresee the associated consequences and to prevent possible risks. Thus we are contributing to development of rational aquatic systems management practices for the 21st century.

top

Biogéochimie environnementale et écotoxicologie

professeure Vera Slaveykova


Les recherches effectuées au laboratoire de biogéochimie environnementale et d’écotoxicologie ont pour but d'approfondir la compréhension au niveau moléculaire des processus de base qui régissent le comportement des métaux-traces toxiques et des nanoparticules synthétiques dans les systèmes aquatiques, depuis leur entrée jusqu’au site d’activité biologique. Nous mettons l’emphase sur le développement de concepts novateurs et d’outils de pointe permettant d’étudier leurs interactions avec les divers constituants biotiques et abiotiques des systèmes aquatiques. Un concept unifiant nos différents thèmes de recherche est la biodisponibilité qui permet de relier les différents processus situés à l’interface milieu-organisme avec les effets biologiques sur un microorganisme, une population ou une communauté spécifique, prenant en compte le rôle des différents facteurs physico-chimiques et biologiques influençant la variation temporelle et spatiale de la disponibilité et des effets biologiques.

Notre recherche actuelle porte sur la biogéochimie et l'écotoxicologie du Hg, Cd, Cu, Pb et différentes nanoparticules contenant des métaux dans les milieux d’eaux douces, les océans et les milieux côtiers. Notre approche combine l'expérimentation en laboratoire pour recréer et comprendre les processus clés à l'interface milieu-organisme, l'expérimentation sur le terrain pour valider ces résultats, la modélisation, l'évaluation des risques et la cartographie. Nous utilisons une grande variété de méthodes et d'outils provenant de différentes disciplines, comme la chimie analytique et environnementale, l'écotoxicologie, la biologie moléculaire et la modélisation.

L'objectif à long terme de cette recherche est d'appliquer de nouvelles connaissances fondamentales afin d’anticiper les effets combinés des changements globaux et des stress physico-chimiques sur la qualité de l'eau, pour ainsi prévoir les conséquences et prévenir les possibles risques qui en découlent. Ainsi, nous contribuons au développement de pratiques de gestion rationnelles des systèmes aquatiques pour le XXIe siècle.

 

 

top