2017

Gravitational waves: a new research instrument

Download PDF version

illustration_Ferrigno.jpg

Abstract representation of the neutron stars as they spiral towards each other, just before merging. © ESA

 

It was in 2015 that the scientific community first measured the passage of gravitational waves, whose existence had been predicted by Albert Einstein back in 1915. Now an international team of astronomers — including the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland — has simultaneously measured a train of gravitational waves and a gamma-ray burst (an electromagnetic flash) caused by two neutron stars colliding. This observation supports the finding that coalescing neutron stars cause gravitational waves, while at least part of gamma-ray bursts are generated in particular by these collisions. The results were obtained using enormous laser interferometers: LIGO (in the USA) and VIRGO (in Italy) together with the INTEGRAL (European Space Agency) and FERMI (NASA) satellites. The outcomes, published in Astrophysical Journal Letters, open up new research perspectives by linking observations of gravitational waves and electromagnetic radiation.


The world of physics and astrophysics was thrown into turmoil in 2015: the first train of gravitational waves was detected, thereby confirming Einstein’s theory. These waves, which are made up of very small deformations of space and time, are generated when large masses collide. Until 2015, only collisions involving massive black holes had been spotted in this way, using the LIGO and VIRGO interferometers, consisting of two perpendicular arms, respectively 4 km and 3 km long. These devices measure the gravitational waves by means of lasers projected simultaneously onto the two arms, then reflected by mirrors so they return to their starting point. Although the two laser beams generally arrive at the same time, they are not perfectly synchronised when a gravitational wave passes: both beams undergo space-time deformations, one slightly shrinks, while the other extends hundreds of times per second. The signal, however, is weak: it is a question of measuring a difference that is as small as the diameter of a hair relative to the distance between the sun and its nearest star, which is 4.2 light-years away.


The mysterious origins of gamma-rays


Until now, the few gravitational waves that have been detected were observed following the collision of two black holes, objects so dense that they form space-time singularities which even light cannot escape. On this occasion, however, the gravitational wave train that was detected bears the signature of two neutron stars colliding (i.e. the remains of the core of a massive star after its explosion as a supernova).


“It has long been speculated that events like these are behind some  of the gamma-ray bursts, these flashes of electromagnetic energy that last one or two seconds and remain a mystery to many,” explains Carlo Ferrigno, an astrophysicist at the Integral Science Data Center (ISDC) in the UNIGE Faculty of Science. “To verify this hypothesis, we had to detect the gravitational waves and a gamma-ray burst from the same region of the sky simultaneously.”


The FERMI and INTEGRAL satellites are designed, inter alia, to spot gamma-ray bursts. “We’d estimated that we would need to study about a hundred events related to detecting gravitational waves produced by the coalescence of neutron stars before we could identify a gamma-ray burst simultaneously,” adds Volodymyr Savchenko, another researcher at ISDC. “To our great surprise, the first attempt was enough.”


Collision between two neutron stars


On August 17, 2017 at 2.41 in the afternoon, LIGO recorded the passage of a train of gravitational waves. Two seconds later, it was the FERMI satellite’s turn to spot a gamma-ray burst. Astronomers from around the world were immediately alerted. “We examined the data from INTEGRAL taken at that exact moment and, although it was weak, the signal of a gamma-ray burst was definitely there,” notes Ferrigno enthusiastically. The researchers then discovered that this two-fold phenomenon had been caused by the collision and fusion of two neutron stars. The shock triggered a gravitational wave, which was accompanied by a gigantic flash of light in the region of the gamma rays, followed by the emission of visible light from ejecta expanding at half the speed of light measured by telescopes in Chile.


 Further confirmation of the theory of general relativity


The discovery provides further confirmation of Einstein’s theory of general relativity. In addition, we now know one of the possible origins of gamma-ray bursts. At long last, astronomy can boast a new observation tool: gravitational waves. These waves, whether alone or in conjunction with light-measuring instruments, now open up new perspectives for astronomical research.

Discover here an animation of two neutron stars colliding.

Contact: Carlo Ferrigno, +41 79 796 77 82

October 16, 2017
  2017

2017

Les ondes gravitationnelles, nouvel instrument de recherche

Télécharger la version PDF

illustration_Ferrigno.jpg

Vue d’artiste des étoiles à neutrons plongeant l’une vers l’autre, juste avant de fusionner. © ESA

 

En 2015, la communauté scientifique mesurait pour la première fois le passage d’ondes gravitationnelles, dont l’existence avait été prédite par Albert Einstein en 1915. Aujourd’hui, une équipe internationale d’astronomes, notamment de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE), a mesuré simultanément un train d’ondes gravitationnelles et un sursaut gamma (un flash électromagnétique) provoqués par la collision de deux étoiles à neutrons. Cette observation confirme que la coalescence d’étoiles à neutrons  génère des ondes gravitationnelles d’une part, et que certains sursauts gamma sont provoqués par de telles collisions d’autre part. Ces résultats ont été obtenus à l’aide des interféromètres géants LIGO (situé aux Etats-Unis) et VIRGO (en Italie), ainsi que par les satellites INTEGRAL (Agence Spatiale Européenne ESA) et FERMI (NASA). Ces résultats, publiés dans la revue Astrophysical Journal Letters, ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives de recherche en liant des observations d’ondes gravitationnelles et de rayonnement électromagnétique.


En 2015, le monde de la physique et de l’astrophysique était en émoi : le premier train  d’ondes gravitationnelles était détecté, confirmant la théorie d’Einstein. Ces ondes sont de très petites déformations de l’espace et du temps et sont générées lorsque des masses importantes entrent en collision. Jusqu’à ce jour, seules des collisions de trous noirs massifs avaient été détectées par ce biais, à l’aide des interféromètres LIGO et VIRGO, composés de deux bras perpendiculaires longs respectivement de 4km et 3km. Ces appareils mesurent les ondes gravitationnelles grâce à des rayons lasers projetés simultanément dans les deux bras, puis réfléchis par des miroirs afin de revenir à leur point de départ. Normalement, les deux rayons lasers arrivent en même temps mais, lors du passage d’une onde gravitationnelle, ils ne sont plus parfaitement synchronisés, l’un des rayons subissant des déformations de l’espace-temps. Le signal est toutefois ténu : il s’agit de mesurer une différence aussi petite que le diamètre d’un cheveux par rapport à la distance qui sépare le Soleil de son étoile la plus proche, située à 4,2 années-lumière.


Le mystère de l’origine des rayons gamma


Jusqu’à aujourd’hui, les quelques détections d’ondes gravitationnelles observées étaient dues à la collision de deux trous noirs, des objets tellement denses qu’ils forment des singularités dans l’espace-temps desquels même la lumière ne peut s’échapper. Cette fois-ci pourtant, le train d’ondes gravitationnelles détecté porte la signature d’une collision de deux étoiles à neutrons (à savoir les restes du cœur d’une étoile massive après son explosion sous forme de supernova).


« Une conjecture de longue date propose que de tels événements soient à l’origine d’une fraction des sursauts gamma, ces flash brillants de rayonnement électromagnétique énergétique qui durent une ou deux secondes et qui restent largement un mystère, explique Carlo Ferrigno, astrophysicien à l’Integral Science Data Center (ISDC) de la Faculté des sciences de l’UNIGE. Il était nécessaire, pour vérifier cette hypothèse, de détecter simultanément les ondes gravitationnelles et un sursaut gamma provenant de la même région du ciel. »


Les satellites FERMI et INTEGRAL sont conçus, entre autre, pour détecter les sursauts gamma. « Nous avions estimé qu’il nous faudrait étudier une centaine d‘événements en lien avec la détection d’ondes gravitationnelles produites par la coalescence des étoiles à neutrons pour pouvoir détecter un sursaut gamma simultanément, ajoute Volodymyr Savchenko, également chercheur à l’ISDC. À notre plus grande surprise, le premier essai a suffit.»


La collision de deux étoiles de neutrons


En effet, le 17 août 2017 à 14h41, LIGO enregistre le passage d’un train d’ondes gravitationnelles. Deux secondes plus tard, c’est au tour du satellite FERMI de détecter un sursaut gamma. Immédiatement, les astronomes du monde entier sont alertés. « Nous nous sommes penchés sur les données d’INTEGRAL prises à cet instant et, bien que faible, le signal d’un sursaut gamma était bien présent», s’enthousiasme Carlo Ferrigno. Les chercheurs ont ensuite découvert que ce double phénomène avait été provoqué par la collision et la fusion de deux étoiles à neutrons. Le choc a  déclenché une onde gravitationnelle, accompagnée d’un flash lumineux gigantesque dans le domaine des rayons gamma, le tout suivi par une émission de lumière visible mesurée par des télescopes au Chili.


Une confirmation supplémentaire de la théorie de la relativité générale


Cette découverte apporte une confirmation supplémentaire à la théorie de la relativité générale d’Einstein. De plus, nous connaissons désormais l’une des origines possibles des sursauts gamma. Enfin, l’astronomie s’est dotée d’un nouvel outil d’observation, les ondes gravitationnelles. Seules ou en conjonction avec des instruments mesurant la lumière, ces ondes ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives pour la recherche astronomique.

Une vidéo d’animation de la collision de deux étoiles à neutrons est visible ici.

Contact: Carlo Ferrigno, +41 79 796 77 82

16 octobre 2017
  2017