2018

Women in executive positions: leaders or symbols?

A UNIGE study explains why women have greater access to positions of responsibility when a company faces a crisis.

 

page_garde_Kulich.jpg

© All rights reserved

 

The term “glass cliff” is used to describe the phenomenon whereby women reach positions of responsibility when a company is in crisis – roles that would not usually be assigned to them in more “normal” times. Several studies since 2005 have shown that when a firm or a political party is suffering a downturn, women are more likely to attain management positions or be appointed as candidates for elections. How can this be explained? Researchers at the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, have examined the question in a series of studies published in the journal The Leadership Quarterly. They found that women symbolise change at the head of a company, a symbol that helps a business bolster its image. The research team also observed that during periods of crisis, qualities typically associated with men are prioritised in recruitment criteria, regardless of the individual’s gender.

 

When it comes to filling positions of responsibility, women bump up against a glass ceiling. However, when a company is going through a difficult managerial and financial situation, women have better access to leadership positions. Clara Kulich and Vincenzo Iacoviello, researchers in the Psychology Section in UNIGE’s Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences (FPSE), looked at the reasons for this greater openness, known as the “glass cliff.” “Our initial hypothesis”, begins Kulich, “was that qualities that are thought to be ‘feminine’ – such as the ability to listen to employees and the sensitivity to others’ problems – were sought in turbulent times. But our results turned out to be different!”
 

So-called “masculine” skills take precedence in a crisis

The UNIGE psychologists set about analysing the role of gender and individual characteristics during the recruitment process in troubled times. They submitted four curricula vitae, two for men and two for women, to about a hundred people, 40% of whom held managerial positions. For one of the men and one of the women, skills stereotypically associated with the female gender were stressed: listening, sensitivity and emotional tact. For the other two, the CVs highlighted skills stereotypically associated with males: determination, taking responsibility and self-confidence.
“We then asked the participants in a study to select the CV they considered was appropriate for a company in crisis, together with a CV suitable for a firm that was doing well,” explains Kulich. “In 63% of cases, a candidate (male or female) with masculine characteristics was chosen to run a business in turmoil, compared to 41% for a company that was producing good results.” Two other studies showed that, when selecting what kind of business a candidate with masculine characteristics should be selected for, 76% choose a company in crisis. These results may be explained as follows: in a crisis, recruiters look for someone with “masculine” skills because these are the skills deemed necessary for turning around of the company.

So, why do women find it easier to reach positions of responsibility if the skills generally seen as masculine are prioritised during a managerial upheaval?

 

Women: a symbol of change

One of the explanations lies in the fact that the characteristics of candidates are not so polarised during the recruitment process. An earlier study by the same team (2015, published in the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology) showed that when two identical CVs for a man and a woman are presented to a company in crisis – without mentioning their masculine or feminine characteristics – the women are selected in most cases. It appears from this that recruiters view women as symbols of change at the head of a company in difficulty. Women symbolise a radical and visible change at the top, the aim being to boost the firm’s image in difficult times. Under these circumstances, gender is a determining factor in the decision made by recruiters because of its impact on the position and image of the failing company.

“Our study demonstrates that it is still hard for women to overcome the glass cliff phenomenon. A man is hired for his managerial skills, whereas a woman cannot know whether she is perceived as a symbol of change (or even a scapegoat for failure in some cases) or whether it is really the perception that she is a skilled leader that has led her to a position of responsibility,” concludes Kulich.


April 26, 2018
  2018

2018

Femmes cadres: leadership ou symbole?

Une étude de l’UNIGE explique pourquoi les femmes accèdent plus facilement aux postes à responsabilités lorsqu’une entreprise connaît des difficultés.

 

page_garde_Kulich.jpg

© DR

 

La falaise de verre. Cette terminologie désigne l’accès aux postes à responsabilités pour les femmes lorsqu’une entreprise est en crise, postes qui leurs sont en temps normal difficilement confiés. En effet, depuis 2005, plusieurs études ont démontrés que lorsqu’une entreprise ou un parti politique se portent mal, les femmes ont davantage de chance d’accéder à des postes managériaux ou d’être désignées candidates. Comment expliquer ce phénomène ? Des chercheurs de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) se sont penchés sur la question dans une série d’études publiées dans la revue The Leadership Quarterly. Ils ont ainsi observé que la femme symbolise le changement à la tête d’une entreprise, symbole qui permettrait à une entreprise de redorer son image. Ils ont aussi constaté qu’en temps de crise, des qualités ordinairement associées au genre masculin prédominent dans les critères de recrutement, quel que soit le sexe de la personne.

Lorsqu’il s’agit de repourvoir un poste à responsabilités, les femmes se heurtent au plafond de verre. Pourtant, lorsqu’une entreprise traverse une situation difficile sur le plan managérial et économique, les femmes accèdent plus facilement aux postes de direction. Clara Kulich et Vincenzo Iacoviello, chercheurs à la Section de psychologie de la Faculté de psychologie et des sciences de l’éducation (FPSE) de l’UNIGE, se sont interrogés sur les causes de cette ouverture, nommée falaise de verre. «Notre hypothèse de départ supposait que des qualités réputées comme étant «féminines», par exemple la capacité d’écoute et la sensibilité, étaient recherchées en période houleuse, explique Clara Kulich. Mais nos résultats sont tout autres!»


En cas de crise, les aptitudes dites masculines priment

Afin d’analyser le rôle du sexe et des caractéristiques de la personne lors d’un recrutement en cas de crise, les psychologues de l’UNIGE ont présenté quatre curriculum vitae (CV), ceux de deux hommes et de deux femmes, à plus d’une centaine de personnes dont 40 % occupent des postes de managers. Chez l’une des personnes de chaque sexe, des compétences stéréotypiquement associées au genre féminin étaient mises en avant – écoute, sensibilité, tact émotionnel. Chez les autre deux, le CV mettait en avant des compétences stéréotypiquement associées au genre masculin – détermination, prise en charge, confiance en soi.

«Dans une étude, nous avons ensuite demandé aux participants de choisir le CV qu’ils considéraient adéquat pour une entreprise en crise, et celui qui convenait à une entreprise qui fonctionne bien, détaille Clara Kulich. Dans 63% des cas, une candidate ou un candidat aux caractéristiques masculines a été choisie pour gérer une entreprise dans la tourmente, contre 41% pour une entreprise qui génère de bons résultats.» Deux autres études ont montré que, lorsqu’il s’agit de choisir quelle sorte d’entreprise dirigera une personne aux caractéristiques masculines, 76% choisissent une entreprise en crise. Ces résultats s’expliquent de la manière suivante : en contexte de crise, les recruteurs recherchent une personne aux compétences «masculines», car ces compétences sont jugées nécessaires afin qu’elle puisse améliorer la situation de l’entreprise.

Dès lors, pourquoi les femmes accèdent-elles plus facilement à des postes à responsabilités si les aptitudes généralement considérées comme masculines sont privilégiées lors de crises managériales ?


La femme, symbole du changement

Une des explications réside dans le fait que lors d’un recrutement, les caractéristiques des candidats ne sont pas aussi polarisées. Une précédente étude de la même équipe (2015, publiée dans le Journal of Experimental Social Psychology) a démontré que lorsque l’on présente deux CV équivalents d’un homme et d’une femme pour une entreprise en crise, sans mentionner leurs caractéristiques masculines ou féminines, les femmes sont majoritairement choisies. Il apparaît ainsi que la femme est perçue par les recruteurs comme un symbole de changement à la tête de l’entreprise en difficulté. La femme symbolise en effet un changement radical et visible à la tête de l’entreprise, dans le but d’améliorer son image en période difficile. Dans ce genre de situations, le sexe est un facteur déterminant dans le choix des recruteurs en raison de son impact sur la position et l’image de l’entreprise à la dérive.

«Notre étude démontre qu’il est encore difficile pour les femmes de lutter contre l’effet de la falaise de verre. Un homme est engagé pour ses compétences managériales, alors qu’une femme ne peut savoir si elle sert de symbole de changement (voire même de bouc-émissaire pour expliquer un échec dans certain cas), ou si ce sont bel et bien ses compétences qui l’ont conduite à ce poste à responsabilités», conclut Clara Kulich.

2 mai 2018
  2018