2018

UNIGE launches a doctorate of advanced professional studies

The new doctorate of advanced professional studies in finance, launched in partnership with Tsinghua University in Beijing, is aimed at entrepreneurs and business leaders. A premiere in the field of higher education in Switzerland.

 

Doctorat_Finance_BandeauWeb.jpg

Olivier Scaillet, Professor of Probability & Statistics and Deputy Director of the Geneva Finance Research Institute GFRI, Geneva School of Economics and Management (GSEM), during his lecture on “Risk Management in Private Banking” in Beijing. (UNIGE)

 

The University of Geneva (UNIGE) has joined forces with Tsinghua University, one of China’s most prestigious universities, to create a doctorate of advanced professional studies in finance in the field of wealth management, for which it assumes scientific responsibility. This pilot project is designed primarily for Chinese entrepreneurs or company directors with a master’s degree and at least five years’ professional experience, but it is also open to candidates coming from Switzerland.

 

«A doctorate of advanced professional studies did not exist so far,» says Rajna Gibson, professor at the Geneva Finance Research Institute (GFRI) of the UNIGE Geneva School of Economics and Management, in charge of this programme. «Unlike a classical doctorate whose thesis focuses on fundamental research, we are faced here with very specialized projects in the field of applied research. It is an immediate application of newly acquired skills.» This pilot programme has received the approval of the Geneva State Council, for a three-year probation  period at the end of which the University Assembly will draw up an initial assessment. This permitted to now integrate the title of doctorate of advanced professional studies within the UNIGE statutes.

 

Thesis are co-directed by UNIGE and Tsinghua

The ten course modules take place in Beijing with half of the teachers coming from UNIGE and half from Tsinghua University, they are given in English with simultaneous translation into Mandarin, and supported by bilingual materials. They are part of a three-year curriculum, during which the doctoral student’s professional thesis is systematically co-directed by a UNIGE professor and a Tsinghua University professor. The programme, which is operationally managed by the GIWM Foundation (Geneva Institute for Wealth Management), also includes a one-week «Study Tour» in Geneva, enriched by daily meetings and exchanges with the main players from the Geneva financial services industry.

The project started at the beginning of the 2016 academic year in the form of a DAS in applied finance (Diploma of Advanced Studies) which immediately attracted more than a hundred students, a figure equalled at the beginning of the 2017 academic year. «The immediate success of this program proves that it meets a market need,» says Rajna Gibson. The partnership between the two universities is the cornerstone of this programme: both stand out in the top 100 universities of the Shanghai ranking and share the same high-quality standards. Tsinghua University provides its knowledge and direct access to the Chinese market, UNIGE its expertise in wealth management and its close links with the Geneva financial Centre.

Entirely self-financed, this programme will also make it possible to develop doctoral scholarships for UNIGE students. GFRI is considering the possible launch of a second professional doctorate in finance specialized in «Sustainable Assets and Wealth Management», designed for senior Chinese government officials. Also developed in partnership with Tsinghua University, this programme only awaits the approval of the Chinese Ministry of Education.

September 25, 2018
  2018

2018

L’UNIGE lance un doctorat professionnel en finance

L’UNIGE lance un programme de doctorat professionnel destiné aux entrepreneurs et dirigeants d’entreprises, en partenariat avec la Tsinghua University de Beijing. Une première dans le domaine de l’enseignement supérieur en Suisse.

 

Doctorat_Finance_BandeauWeb.jpg

Olivier Scaillet, professeur de statistiques et de probabilités et Vice-Directeur du Geneva Finance Research Institute GFRI, Faculté d’économie et de management (GSEM), lors du cours “Risk Management in Private Banking” à Beijing. (UNIGE)

 

L’Université de Genève (UNIGE) s’est associée à la Tsinghua University, l’une des plus prestigieuses universités chinoises, pour créer un programme de doctorat professionnel en finance dans le domaine de la gestion de fortune, dont elle assume la responsabilité scientifique. Ce projet pilote, également ouvert à des candidats venus de Suisse, s’adresse prioritairement à des entrepreneurs ou des directeurs d’entreprises chinoises, détenteurs d’un master et justifiant d’au moins cinq années d’expérience professionnelle.

 

«Le titre de doctorat professionnel n’existait pas», relève Rajna Gibson, professeure au Geneva Finance Research Institute (GFRI) de la Geneva School of Economics and Management de l’UNIGE, en charge de ce programme. «A la différence d’un doctorat classique dont la thèse porte sur une recherche fondamentale, nous sommes ici face à des travaux très pointus dans le domaine de la recherche appliquée. C’est une mise en pratique immédiate des compétences nouvellement acquises.» Dans le cadre de ce programme pilote, le titre de doctorat professionnel est désormais inscrit dans les statuts de l’UNIGE, après avoir reçu l’approbation du Conseil d’Etat, pour une période d’évaluation de trois ans au terme de laquelle l’Assemblée de l’Université tirera un premier bilan.

 

Des thèses co-dirigées par l’UNIGE et Tsinghua

Les dix modules de cours se déroulent à Beijing avec des professeurs issus pour moitié de l’UNIGE et pour moitié de la Tsinghua University, ils sont donnés en anglais avec traduction simultanée en mandarin, et appuyés par des supports bilingues. Ils s’intègrent dans un cursus de trois ans, durant lequel la thèse professionnelle du doctorant est systématiquement codirigée par un professeur de l’UNIGE et un professeur de la Tsinghua University. Le programme, piloté au plan opérationnel par la fondation GIWM (Geneva Institute for Wealth Management) comporte également un «Study Tour» d’une semaine à Genève, enrichi de rencontres et d’échanges quotidiens avec les principaux acteurs de la place financière genevoise.

Le projet a démarré à la rentrée 2016 sous la forme d’un DAS en finance applique (Diploma of Advanced Studies) qui a attiré d’emblée plus d’une centaine d’étudiants, un chiffre égalé lors de la rentrée académique 2017. «Le succès immédiat rencontré par ce programme prouve qu’il répond à un besoin du marché», remarque Rajna Gibson. Le partenariat entre les deux universités partenaires en est la clé de voûte: toutes deux sont situées dans les 100 premières places du classement de Shanghai et partagent les mêmes standards qualitatifs élevés. La Tsinghua University apporte sa connaissance et un accès direct au marché chinois, l’UNIGE sa compétence dans le domaine de la gestion de fortune et ses liens étroits avec la place financière genevoise.

Entièrement auto-financé, ce programme permettra de développer également des bourses doctorales pour des étudiants de l’UNIGE. Le GFRI envisage la création d’un second doctorat professionnel en finance « Sustainable Assets and Wealth Management », conçu pour des hauts cadres de l’administration chinoise, toujours en partenariat avec Tsinghua University et qui pourra être lancé dès que le ministère chinois de l’éducation aura donné son aval.

 

 

25 sept. 2018

2018