2019

Nobel Prize in Physics awarded to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz

Professors Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz were awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics for their discovery of the first exoplanet in 1995. They have made UNIGE a global centre of expertise in this field.

Mayor_Queloz_BandeauWeb.jpg

Didier Queloz and Michel Mayor, Nobel Prize winner in Physics 2019 © UNIGE

 

On October 6, 1995, Michel Mayor, Professor at the Observatory of the Faculty of Science of the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, and his doctoral student Didier Queloz revolutionized the world of astrophysics when they announced the discovery of the first planet located outside our solar system. Named 51 Pegasi b, this very first exoplanet had a huge impact on the astrophysicist community. Since then, research has continued to develop, allowing for the subsequent discovery of about 4000 exoplanets so far. Today, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz share the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics with James Peebles, a Canadian-American cosmologist.


“It is a fantastic recognition of the task accomplished by Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz; it shows the rigour of their scientific approach, but also their creativity and ability to think – and work – outside the box, a true pathway to great discoveries. This Nobel prize also comes as an honour for our University, for Geneva and for the whole of Switzerland, as a recognition of the quality of its research being rewarded at the highest level,” says Yves Flückiger, Rector of the UNIGE.


A brief look back

24 years ago, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz attended a scientific conference in Florence to announce the discovery of the first planet outside the solar system: 51 Pegasi B. “No one knew whether exoplanets existed or not,” recalls Michel Mayor. For years prestigious astronomers had been looking for them in vain! “Indeed, the technologies to enable such a discovery did not exist at the time and it was necessary to wait for the Elodie spectrograph (alias super-Coravel), put into service in 1993 on a 2m diameter telescope in Haute-Provence. Thanks to the accuracy of its measurements (15m/s), Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz spotted a stellar object in 1994 that circled his star in 4.2 days. “We were so excited to have found an exoplanet, says Didier Queloz. But first we had to confirm our observations before we could reveal anything.” In July 1995, the two astrophysicists no longer had any doubt: they have just discovered the first exoplanet!

“This discovery is the most exciting of our entire career, and to be awarded a Nobel Prize is simply extraordinary,” say Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz.


Is life hiding on exoplanets?

Current tools – such as the CHEOPS satellite or the new ESPRESSO spectrograph built in Geneva and installed on the ESO Very Large Telescope in Chile – open up new perspectives in the hunt for exoplanets. The next step is to closely analyse these planetary systems, including their origin, evolution and physical and chemical characterizations. This task is fulfilled by the PlanetS National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR), which brings together the centres of excellence dedicated to the study of exoplanets, of which UNIGE is a pillar.

This research also hides the hope of detecting extraterrestrial life. The gigantic theoretical number of planetary systems (estimated at tens of billions) allows astrophysicists to believe in the existence of other worlds evolving under conditions favourable to the emergence of life. If we consider that organisms evolve in the same way as on Earth, the presence of carbon dioxide and water will indicate that the planet is habitable. If ozone is found there, it will be proof that it is inhabited. However, this is only a scientific hypothesis.

This 2019 Nobel Prize in physics is also awarded to James Peebles for his work in cosmology that goes back to the genesis of the Universe, from the Big Bang to the present day.

October 8, 2019
  2019

2019

Le Prix Nobel pour Michel Mayor et Didier Queloz

Les professeurs Michel Mayor et Didier Queloz  se sont vus décerner le Prix Nobel de physique 2019  pour leur découverte  de la première exoplanète  en 1995. Ils ont fait de l’UNIGE  un centre mondial de  compétences dans ce domaine.

Mayor_Queloz_BandeauWeb.jpg

Didier Queloz et Michel Mayor, Prix Nobel de physique 2019 © UNIGE

 

Le 6 octobre 1995, Michel Mayor, professeur à l’Observatoire de la Faculté des sciences de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE), et son doctorant Didier Queloz révolutionnaient le monde de l’astrophysique en annonçant la découverte de la première planète située en-dehors de notre système solaire. Nommée 51 Pegasi b, cette toute première exoplanète fait l’effet d’une bombe dans le milieu des astrophysiciens. Depuis lors, les recherches n’ont cessé de se développer et l’on recense aujourd’hui environ 4000 exoplanètes. Michel Mayor et Didier Queloz voient aujourd’hui cette découverte récompensée par le Prix Nobel de physique 2019, qu’ils partagent avec James Peebles, cosmologiste canado-amércain.

«C’est une fantastique reconnaissance du travail accompli par Michel Mayor et Didier Queloz ; elle témoigne de la qualité de leur démarche scientifique, de sa rigueur mais aussi d’une créativité et d’une capacité à penser – et chercher – hors des chemins balisés qui est à la source des plus grandes découvertes. C’est une nouvelle formidable également pour notre Université, pour Genève et pour toute la Suisse, qui voit la qualité de sa recherche récompensée au plus haut niveau», se félicite Yves Flückiger, recteur de l’UNIGE.


Un bref retour en arrière

Il y a 24 ans, Michel Mayor et Didier Queloz se rendent à une conférence scientifique à Florence et annoncent avoir découvert la première planète située en dehors du système solaire: 51 Pegasi B. «Personne ne savait si les exoplanètes existaient ou non, se rappelle Michel Mayor. Des astronomes prestigieux les cherchaient depuis des années… en vain !» En effet, les technologies pour permettre une telle découverte n’existaient pas encore à l’époque. Il faudra attendre le spectrographe Elodie (alias super-Coravel), mis en service en 1993 sur un télescope de 2m de diamètre en Haute-Provence. Grâce à la précision de ses mesures (15m/s), Michel Mayor et Didier Queloz repèrent en 1994 un objet stellaire faisant le tour de son étoile en 4,2 jours. «Nous étions tellement excités à l’idée d’avoir trouvé une exoplanète ! raconte Didier Queloz. Mais il nous fallait d’abord confirmer nos observations avant de révéler quoique ce soit.» En juillet 1995, les deux astrophysiciens n’ont plus aucun doute: ils viennent de découvrir la première exoplanète !

«Cette découverte est la plus excitante de toute notre carrière, et qu’elle soit récompensée par un Prix Nobel, c’est tout simplement extraordinaire», s’émeuvent Michel Mayor et Didier Queloz.


La vie se cache-t-elle sur les exoplanètes ?

Les outils actuels – tels le satellite CHEOPS ou encore le nouveau spectrographe ESPRESSO construit à Genève et installé sur le Very Large Telescope de l’ESO au Chili – ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives dans la recherche d’exoplanètes. Il s’agit maintenant d’analyser de près ces systèmes planétaires, notamment leur origine, leur évolution et leurs caractérisations physiques et chimiques. Cette tâche revient notamment au Pôle de recherche national (PRN) PlanetS, qui réunit les centres d’excellence consacrés à l’étude des exoplanètes, dont l’UNIGE est un pilier.

Ces recherches cachent également l’espoir de déceler une vie extraterrestre. Le nombre théorique gigantesque de systèmes planétaires (estimé à des dizaines de milliards) permet aux astrophysiciens de croire en l’existence d’autres mondes évoluant dans des conditions favorables à l’éclosion de la vie. Si nous considérons que les organismes évoluent de la même manière que sur la Terre, la présence de gaz carbonique et d’eau indiquera que la planète est habitable. Si l’on y trouve de l’ozone, cela sera la preuve qu’elle est habitée. Toutefois, il ne s’agit que d’une hypothèse scientifique.

Ce prix Nobel de physique 2019 est également remis à James Peebles pour ses travaux en cosmologie qui plongent à la genèse de l’Univers, du Big Bang à nos jours.

8 octobre 2019
  2019