2019

Why do Hydra end up with just a single head?

The ability of Hydra to regenerate or maintain a single head results from a subtle balance between activating and inhibiting activities. The latter has just been identified by a UNIGE group.

hydre_SP5_knockdown.jpg

A Hydra that produces too little Sp5 spontaneously develops multiple heads. © Brigitte Galliot, UNIGE

 

The freshwater Hydra is able to regenerate any part of its body to rebuild an entire individual. The small polyp has a development organizer center located at the head level, and another located in the foot. The head organizer performs two opposite activities, one activating, which causes the head to differentiate, and the other inhibiting, which prevents the formation of supernumerary heads. Researchers at the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, have discovered the identity of the inhibitor, a protein called Sp5, and deciphered the dialogue between these two antagonistic activities, which helps maintain a single-headed adult body and organize an appropriate regenerative response. Published in the journal Nature Communications, their study points out that this mechanism has been conserved throughout evolution, both in Hydra and in humans. Sp5 could therefore be an excellent candidate to be tested as an inhibitor of human tumors in which the activator pathway is the motor of proliferation.

Often considered immortal, the freshwater Hydra has a prodigious regenerative power, discovered by the Geneva naturalist Abraham Trembley nearly 300 years ago. Any fragment of the body with a few thousands cells can regenerate the entire animal, which measures about one centimeter. “Regeneration of the head relies on the transformation of the stump into a tissue called the head organizing centre, which has developmental properties and, like an architect, directs the construction of the future head”, explains Brigitte Galliot, professor at the Department of Genetics and Evolution of the UNIGE Faculty of Science.


How the dialogue between Yin and Yang takes shape

The head organizer carries out two opposite activities, one activating and the other inhibiting. The first induces the differentiation of stem cells into specialized head cells. The activator is a growth factor called Wnt3, whose action allows the initiation of a three-dimensional cell differentiation program that enables the construction of the head. Thus, in the absence of Wnt3, the head regeneration program cannot proceed. The inhibitory activity, produced under the control of the activator activity, prevents the formation of supernumerary heads. “These two antagonistic activities establish a dialogue between them, but we knew neither the identity of the inhibitor nor the nature of this dialogue”, says the biologist.

Using the results of a study conducted by a German team on the planarian flatworm, the biologists developed a gene screening strategy to identify this inhibitor. “We started from 124 candidates who met specific criteria to single out a unique winner, who met all of them. It is a gene that codes for a protein called Sp5”, says Matthias Vogg, researcher at the Department of Genetics and Evolution of the UNIGE Faculty of Science and first author of the study. The scientists then demonstrated that Sp5 binds to the regulatory region of the gene that codes for Wnt3, blocks its expression and thus the formation of the head.


The seven heads of the freshwater Hydra

How does the dialogue between the activator pathway and the inhibitor work? “We have quantified the expression of the genes encoding Wnt3 and Sp5 in different parts of the body of intact or amputated Hydra, and discovered that a regulatory loop between the two activities is established according to the location and quantity of each gene expressed”, notes Brigitte Galliot. Thus, in intact animals, the growth factor Wnt3 will be mainly present at the tip of the head, while Sp5 will be primarily active in the surrounding area, to prevent the appearance of other heads.

When researchers block the expression of Sp5, Hydra polyps, intact or regenerating, develop multiple heads, all perfectly functional, their tentacles apprehending the food to lead it to the mouth. “We also replicated these results from Hydra polyps whose cells had been completely dissociated from each other, then reaggregated and left in culture: multi-headed Hydra re-formed completely in four to five days”, explains Matthias Vogg.

In humans, the cell signaling pathway activated by Wnt3 is mainly active during embryonic development, as well as in different types of tumors in adults. If the inhibitory effect of Sp5 is confirmed in our species, this protein could be a candidate treatment targeting cancer cells that use the Wnt3 pathway to proliferate.

January 18, 2019
  2019

2019

Pourquoi les hydres n’ont finalement qu’une tête

La capacité de l’Hydre à régénérer ou maintenir une tête unique résulte d’un équilibre subtil entre des activités activatrice et inhibitrice. Cette dernière vient d’être identifiée par un groupe de l’UNIGE.

hydre_SP5_knockdown.jpg

Une Hydre produisant trop peu de Sp5 développe spontanément de multiples têtes. © Brigitte Galliot, UNIGE

 

L’Hydre d’eau douce est capable de régénérer n’importe quelle partie de son corps pour reconstituer un individu entier. Le petit polype possède un centre organisateur de développement situé au niveau de la tête, et un autre localisé dans le pied. L’organisateur de tête exerce deux activités opposées, l’une activatrice, qui provoque la différentiation de la tête, et l’autre inhibitrice, qui prévient la formation de têtes surnuméraires. Des scientifiques de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) ont découvert l’identité de l’inhibiteur, une protéine appelée Sp5, et déchiffré le dialogue entre ces deux activités antagonistes qui permet de maintenir un corps adulte à une seule tête et d’organiser une réponse de régénération appropriée. Publiée dans la revue Nature Communications, leur étude souligne que ce mécanisme a été conservé au cours de l’évolution, tant chez l’Hydre que l’humain. Sp5 pourrait donc être un excellent candidat à tester comme inhibiteur des tumeurs humaines dont la voie activatrice est le moteur de prolifération.

Souvent considérée comme immortelle, l’Hydre d’eau douce est dotée d’un pouvoir de régénération prodigieux, découvert par le naturaliste genevois Abraham Trembley il y a près de 300 ans. N’importe quel fragment du corps comportant quelques milliers de cellules peut régénérer l’animal entier, qui mesure près d’un centimètre. «La régénération de la tête repose sur la transformation de la partie amputée en un tissu appelé centre organisateur de tête, qui a des propriétés de développement et, comme un architecte, dirige la construction de la future tête», explique Brigitte Galliot, professeure au Département de génétique et évolution de la Faculté des sciences de l’UNIGE.


Comment le dialogue entre yin et yang s’établit

L’organisateur de tête exerce deux activités opposées, l’une activatrice et l’autre inhibitrice. La première induit la différentiation de cellules souches en cellules spécialisées de la tête. L’activateur est un facteur de croissance appelé Wnt3, dont l’action permet la mise en route d’un programme de différenciation cellulaire en trois dimensions, qui permet la construction de la tête. En l’absence de Wnt3, le programme de formation de la tête ne peut donc pas se dérouler. L’activité inhibitrice, produite sous le contrôle de l’activité activatrice, prévient quant à elle la formation de têtes surnuméraires. «Ces deux activités antagonistes établissent un dialogue entre elles, mais nous ne connaissions ni l’identité de l’inhibiteur ni la nature de ce dialogue», précise la biologiste.

En utilisant les résultats d’une étude effectuée par une équipe allemande sur un ver plat nommé planaire, les biologistes ont établi une stratégie de criblage de gènes pour identifier cet inhibiteur. «Nous sommes partis de 124 candidats qui remplissaient des critères précis pour aboutir à un vainqueur unique, qui les remplissait tous. Il s’agit d’un gène qui code pour une protéine appelée Sp5», détaille Matthias Vogg, chercheur au Département de génétique et évolution de la Faculté des sciences de l’UNIGE et premier auteur de l’étude. Les scientifiques ont ensuite démontré que Sp5 se lie sur la région régulatrice du gène qui code pour Wnt3, en bloque l’expression et donc la formation de la tête.


Les sept têtes de l’Hydre d’eau douce

Comment fonctionne le dialogue entre la voie activatrice et l’inhibiteur? «Nous avons quantifié l’expression des gènes codant pour Wnt3 et Sp5 dans différents endroits du corps d’hydres intactes ou amputées, et découvert qu’une boucle de régulation entre les deux activités s’établit selon la localisation et la quantité de chaque gène exprimé», note Brigitte Galliot. Ainsi, chez l’animal intact, le facteur de croissance Wnt3 sera surtout présent au sommet de la tête, tandis que Sp5 sera principalement actif dans la région tout autour, pour prévenir l’apparition d’autres têtes.

Lorsque les chercheurs bloquent l’expression de Sp5, les hydres intactes ou amputées développent de multiples têtes, toutes parfaitement fonctionnelles, leurs tentacules appréhendant la nourriture pour la mener vers la bouche. «Nous avons également reproduit ces résultats à partir d’hydres dont les cellules avaient été complètement dissociées les unes des autres puis réagrégées et laissées en culture: des hydres à têtes multiples se reforment entièrement en quatre à cinq jours», explique Matthias Vogg.


Chez l’humain, la voie de signalisation cellulaire stimulée par Wnt3 est surtout active durant le développement embryonnaire, ainsi que dans différents types de tumeurs chez l’adulte. Si l’effet inhibiteur de Sp5 se confirme dans notre espèce, cette protéine pourrait constituer un traitement-candidat ciblant les cellules cancéreuses qui utilisent la voie Wnt3 pour proliférer.

18 janvier 2019
  2019