2019

Four scientific institutions will monitor Switzerland from space

UNEP/GRID-Geneva, the universities of Geneva and Zurich and the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research join forces for the continuous monitoring of Switzerland from space using the Swiss Data Cube.

 

 

SwissDataCube_BandeauWeb.jpg

Climate, vegetation, water quality, urbanization, cropland, natural habitats: the Swiss Data Cube will enable more effective responses to problems of national significance.

 

The Swiss Data Cube (SDC) is an innovative technology that gathers all available satellite images from the American Landsat program and the European Sentinel 1 and 2. UNEP/GRID-Geneva, the University of Geneva (UNIGE), the University of Zurich (UZH) and the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL) have entered a new cooperation agreement to foster the use of Earth Observation data for environmental monitoring at national scale.

 

The increasing population, urbanization and development of infrastructure in Switzerland generate pressure on natural resources and biodiversity. This pressure will be intensified by the impact of climate change. Given its small and densely populated territory, Switzerland needs to achieve the best possible land management which requires continuous monitoring to assess priorities, compliance to policies and progress. “The SDC will deliver a unique and near real-time capability to track various environmental changes: climate, vegetation, water quality, urbanization, cropland, natural habitats. It will enable more effective responses to problems of national significance,” says Gregory Giuliani, Head of Digital Earth Unit and Swiss Data Cube project leader at GRID-Geneva, UNIGE Institute of Environmental Science (ISE). It will provide ready-for-use information as evidence for developing policy advices, land planning and environmental assessments.

 

Ready for use by non-experts

Since the launch of the first Landsat satellite in 1972, Earth Observation satellites demonstrate their impressive power for monitoring environmental change through space and time. Previously, the access to this information was restricted by the cost of data, computational power, storage, expenses and the complexity of data processing. Nowadays, data from numerous satellites are freely accessible while computational power and storage allows processing big data. “The Swiss Data Cube technology is abolishing the last barrier, i.e. the data processing complexity. It does this by automatizing the image processing of large amount of satellite imagery and brings this data at a level where it is ready for analysis even by non-experts”, explains Michael E. Schaepman, Professor at the UZH Department of Geography.

Switzerland is one of the very few countries in the world to have a national-scale satellite data cube. “The SDC was initially developed by UNEP/GRID-Geneva for the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and supported by the cloud computer infrastructure from the University of Geneva” recalls Pascal Peduzzi, Director of the UNEP/GRID-Geneva, United Nations Environment Programme and Professor at the Dep. F.A. Forel for environmental and aquatic sciences, UNIGE Faculty of Science. Now the SDC can rely on two additional partners: the University of Zurich (UZH) through its Remote Sensing Laboratories and the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL). Each partner is bringing its own scientific knowledge and staff. Working together, these four institutions will pull from their mutual expertise on Earth Observation to bring the Swiss Data Cube to an operational level.

 

10’000 images and a daily update

This data cube is highly enhancing the way users can interact with this data. All the complexity of the calibration and corrections is automatically computerized, thus minimizing the time and scientific knowledge required for dealing with satellite imagery. Based on an analytical cloud-computing platform, the SDC is an innovating technology allowing users the access and visualization as well as the possibility to analyze satellite images from Landsat, Sentinel 1 and Sentinel 2 data from 1984 to now. Images from satellite sensors covers all Switzerland at 10 to 30 meters spatial resolution and twice per week. “The SDC currently includes more than 10’000 images and is updated daily. I expect that it might help the Swiss Confederation, cantons and municipalities to practice environmental monitoring and standalone reporting” says Charlotte Steinmeier from the Swiss Federal Research Institute WSL. It will also allow scientific institutions to fully benefit from Earth Observation data for research and innovation.

 

A cooperation with immediate results

This new agreement, reinforce Switzerland’s position as one of the leading countries on this Data cube technology. It is expected to foster collaborations, incubate new ideas and projects, innovate and promote this expertise at national and international levels. This cooperation is already bringing immediate results. For example, UZH provides the entire Sentinel-1 radar data for Switzerland, adding more than 4 years of radar data into the SDC, making it one of the few  Earth Observation Data Cube in the world to include Landsat, Sentinel 1 and Sentinel 2 data. It also brings new algorithms developed by WSL, for instance on drought monitoring.

The SDC is contributing to the national “Digital Switzerland” strategy by supporting innovation; monitoring the progresses made following government’s decisions; improving management of natural resources; stimulating research; supporting the decision processes and improving data access and use to generate new products and services.

June 6, 2019
  2019

2019

Quatre institutions scrutent la Suisse depuis l’espace

Le GRID-Genève, les universités de Genève et de Zurich et l’Institut fédéral de recherches sur la forêt, la neige et le paysage s’associent pour permettre une observation continue de la Suisse depuis l’espace, grâce au Swiss Data Cube.

 

SwissDataCube_BandeauWeb.jpg

Climat, végétation, qualité de l’eau, urbanisation, terres cultivées, habitats naturels, le Swiss Data Cube permettra d’apporter des réponses plus précises aux questions d’importance nationale.

 

Le Swiss Data Cube (SDC) est une technologie innovante qui rassemble toutes les images satellites disponibles des programmes américain Landsat et européens Sentinel 1 et 2. Les université de Genève (UNIGE) et de Zurich (UZH), le GRID-Genève, intégré au Programme des Nations Unies pour l’Environnement, et l’Institut fédéral de recherches sur la forêt, la neige et le paysage (WSL) ont conclu un accord de coopération pour développer l’exploitation des données d’observation terrestre à l’échelle nationale.

L’augmentation de la population, l’urbanisation et le développement des infrastructures en Suisse exercent une pression sur les ressources naturelles et la biodiversité. Cette pression sera intensifiée par l’impact des changements climatiques. Compte tenu de sa petite taille et de la densité de population sur son territoire, la Suisse doit optimiser la gestion de ses terres, ce qui implique un suivi permanent afin de définir les priorités, de mesurer le respect des politiques publiques et les progrès accomplis. «Le SDC a la capacité unique de suivre, pratiquement en temps réel, les différents changements environnementaux: climat, végétation, qualité de l’eau, urbanisation, terres cultivées, habitats naturels. Il permettra d’apporter des réponses plus précises aux questions d’importance nationale», déclare Gregory Giuliani, chercheur à l’Institut des sciences de l’environnement (ISE) de l’UNIGE et auprès du GRID-Genève. Il délivrera une information prête à être utilisée pour l’élaboration de stratégies touchant l’aménagement du territoire comme pour les évaluations environnementales.

 

Des données exploitables par des non-spécialistes

Depuis le lancement du premier satellite Landsat en 1972, les satellites d’observation de la Terre démontrent une impressionnante capacité à suivre les changements environnementaux dans l’espace et le temps. Auparavant, l’accès à cette information était limité par le coût des données, la puissance de calcul disponible, les capacités de stockage, les dépenses induites et la complexité du traitement des données. De nos jours, les données de nombreux satellites sont librement accessibles, tandis que la puissance de calcul et le stockage permettent de traiter des volumes sans cesse croissants de données. «La technologie du Swiss Data Cube supprime la dernière barrière, à savoir la complexité du traitement des données. Elle automatise le traitement de grandes quantités d’images satellitaires et fournit ainsi des données prêtes à l’exploitation, même par des non-spécialistes», explique Michael E. Schaepman, professeur au département de géographie de l’UZH.

La Suisse est l’un des rares pays au monde à disposer d’un cube de données satellitaires à l’échelle nationale. «Le SDC a été initialement développé par le GRID-Genève sur mandat de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV) en s’appuyant sur le cloud de l’Université de Genève», rappelle Pascal Peduzzi, directeur du GRID-Genève et professeur au Département F.-A. Forel des sciences de l’environnement et de l’eau (DEFSE) de l’UNIGE. Le SDC peut désormais compter sur deux partenaires supplémentaires : l’Université de Zurich (UZH) par le biais de ses laboratoires de télédétection et l’Institut fédéral de recherches sur la forêt, la neige et le paysage (WSL). Chaque partenaire apporte ses compétences scientifiques et ses équipes de recherche. Ensemble, ces quatre institutions tireront parti de leur expertise mutuelle dans le domaine de l’observation de la Terre pour rendre le Swiss Data Cube pleinement opérationnel.

 

10’000 images et une mise à jour hebdomadaire

Ce cube améliore considérablement la façon dont les utilisateurs peuvent interagir avec les données. Les tâches complexes d’étalonnage et de correction ont été automatisées, minimisant le temps et les connaissances scientifiques nécessaires au traitement de l’imagerie satellitaire. Basée sur une plate-forme analytique de cloud computing, le SDC est une technologie innovante permettant aux utilisateurs d’accéder, de visualiser et d’analyser des images satellites à partir de données Landsat, Sentinel 1 et Sentinel 2 de 1984 à nos jours. Les images des capteurs satellites couvrent toute la Suisse à une résolution spatiale de 10 à 30 mètres et deux fois par semaine. «Le SDC compte actuellement plus de 10’000 images et est mis à jour hebdomadairement. Je pense que cela pourrait aider la Confédération, les cantons et les communes dans la surveillance de l’environnement et pour l’établissement de rapports indépendants», déclare Charlotte Steinmeier du WSL. Il permettra également aux institutions scientifiques de tirer pleinement parti des données d’observation de la Terre pour la recherche et l’innovation.

 

Une coopération aux résultats immédiats

Ce nouvel accord conforte la position de la Suisse parmi les leaders dans le domaine de la technologie Data Cube. Il doit favoriser les collaborations interinstitutionnelles, faire naître des projets innovants et assurer la promotion de cette technologie à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Cette coopération donne déjà ses premiers résultats: l’UZH apporte par exemple l’ensemble des données radar Sentinel-1 pour la Suisse, ajoutant plus de 5 ans de données radar au SDC, ce qui en fait l’un des rares cubes de données d’observation de la Terre au monde à inclure les données Landsat, Sentinel 1 et Sentinel 2. Le WSL enrichit également le projet de nouveaux algorithmes utilisés par exemple pour le suivi des sécheresses.

Le SDC contribue à la stratégie nationale Digital Switzerland en soutenant l’innovation, en surveillant les progrès réalisés suite aux décisions de la Confédération, en améliorant la gestion des ressources naturelles, en stimulant la recherche, en soutenant les processus de décision et en améliorant l’accès aux données et leur utilisation pour créer de nouveaux produits et services.

6 juin 2019
  2019