2021

Motorways shape the sociology of cities

Researchers from the UNIGE and USI have analysed the impact of the Swiss motorway network on the evolution of household composition among the country’s municipalities.

maps_colors_mini.png

Green: municipalities whose population grew faster than the national average; red: municipalities that lost population relative to the national average. Dark colours apply to urban municipalities; intermediate colours to rural municipalities connected to the highway network in 2010; light colours to rural municipalities not connected in 2010. © UNIGE

 

The development of transport infrastructure is a central issue for states, which spend billions to connect cities. But what is their real effect on the municipalities concerned? Researchers from the University of Geneva (UNIGE) and the Università della Svizzera italiana (USI) looked at the evolution of the income composition of the population of cities in Switzerland once they are connected to the motorway network. By analysing data from 1950 to 2010, they found that this new accessibility leads to substantial benefits for wealthy people, but indirect costs fall disproportionately on people with low incomes. The results can be read in The Economic Journal.

Every year, about CHF 2.5 billion is spent on maintaining and improving the Swiss national road network alone. These transport infrastructures can influence regional disparities, having an economic impact on the most isolated regions. But what are the real effects on municipalities once they are connected to the motorway network? “Several studies have already shown that one of the consequences is an increase in the population of the newly accessible municipalities, but no one has ever looked at the evolution of the composition of households belonging to different income categories that are induced by this change in these same municipalities. That is what we have done here”, explains Frédéric Robert-Nicoud, professor at the Faculty of Economics and Management (GSEM) of the UNIGE.


60 years of data compiled for Switzerland

To analyse the changing composition of the population in Swiss municipalities, the researchers analysed four types of data for the period 1950-2010: taxpayer data for various income categories, population censuses, data from the Federal Office of Transport on the evolution of the motorway network and the household expenditure survey. “We did this work for 2480 Swiss municipalities, and more specifically for the 780 so-called non-urban municipalities – i.e. with fewer than 10,000 inhabitants – that were connected to the motorway network, in order to be able to observe the real effects of this new accessibility”, explains Raphaël Parchet, professor at the Institute of Economic Research of the USI.


Beneficial effects mainly for the richest

The first result confirms the studies carried out for other countries concerning the increase in the population of municipalities newly connected to the motorway network, with a general increase of 14% in the number of households. Indeed, access to the motorway network improves access to employment, schools, shops, leisure activities, friends, and family circles. It also simplifies location choices for couples with two spouses active in the labour market, or for separated couples with shared childcare, for example. “But what is new is that the number of households in the richest 10% of the population (i.e. those with a taxable income of more than CHF 129,500 per year) is increasing by 42%, while the number of households below the median taxable income (earning less than CHF 58,900 per year) – i.e. the 50% – is increasing by only 5%”, notes Frédéric Robert-Nicoud. However, initially, these municipalities had an under-representation of the richest households. “We can see that the connection to the motorway network leads to a better mix of households in these municipalities”, says the Geneva researcher. The relative increase in the number of well-off households can be explained by the fact that they use the car more than modest households.

This first finding is part of the direct effects of accessibility, but the research team also highlights indirect effects. “When a municipality is connected to the motorway network, its access to employment, shops and activities is improved, which makes it attractive and leads to an increase in land and property prices”, explains Raphaël Parchet. Thus, the burden of the increase in land prices falls disproportionately on the poorest households, since they spend about 40% of their income on housing, compared to 15% of income for the wealthiest households. Motorway access thus results in significant direct benefits for wealthy people, while the indirect costs fall mainly on people with modest incomes.


Population growth leads to urban sprawl

The final finding of this study concerns the physical footprint of metropolitan areas. “When a city is newly connected to the motorway network, it spreads out horizontally, because the connection to the motorway network makes the nearby countryside more attractive and accessible”, notes Frédéric Robert-Nicoud. “In the long term, connection to the motorway network reduces the population of urban centres by 29%.” The same is true for jobs, 18% of which are ultimately decentralised.

This study demonstrates the effect of the densification of the road network on the composition of municipalities. “Car ownership and car use is a luxury; housing is a necessity. Thus, the benefits of motorway access disproportionately accrue to the better-off sections of the population, and its costs disproportionately affect those on lower incomes. In the end, communities with access to the motorway network have become attractive to all, but it is the better-off who have benefited the most”, concludes Raphaël Parchet.

November 2, 2021
  2021

2021

Les autoroutes façonnent la sociologie des villes

Des chercheurs de l’UNIGE et de l’USI ont analysé l’impact du réseau autoroutier suisse sur l’évolution de la composition des ménages entre les municipalités du pays.

maps_colors_mini.png

En vert: municipalités dont la population a crût plus vite que la moyenne nationale; en rouge: municipalités qui ont perdu de la population relativement à la moyenne nationale. Les couleurs foncées s’appliquent aux municipalités urbaines; les couleurs intermédiaires aux municipalités rurales connectées au réseau autoroutier en 2010; les couleurs claires aux municipalités rurales non connectées en 2010. © UNIGE

 

Le développement des infrastructures de transport est un enjeu central pour les États, qui dépensent des milliards pour connecter les villes entre elles. Mais quel est leur effet réel sur les municipalités concernées? Des chercheurs de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) et de l’Université de la Suisse italienne (USI) se sont intéressés à l’évolution de la composition en termes de revenus de la population des villes en Suisse, une fois celles-ci connectées au réseau autoroutier. En analysant les données de 1950 à 2010, ils ont constaté que cette nouvelle accessibilité entraine des bénéfices conséquents pour les personnes aisées, mais engendre des coûts indirects pesant de manière disproportionnée sur les personnes aux faibles revenus. Des résultats à lire dans la revue The Economic Journal.

Chaque année, près de 2.5 milliards de francs sont dépensés rien que pour l’entretien et l’amélioration du réseau des routes nationales suisse. Ces infrastructures de transport peuvent influencer les disparités régionales, impactant économiquement les régions les plus isolées. Mais quels sont les effets réels sur les municipalités, une fois celles-ci connectées au réseau autoroutier? «Plusieurs études ont déjà démontré qu’une des conséquences était l’augmentation de la population des municipalités nouvellement accessibles, mais personne ne s’est jamais penché sur l’évolution de la composition des ménages appartenant à différentes catégories de revenus qui sont induites par ce changement dans ces mêmes municipalités. C’est ce que nous avons fait ici», explique Frédéric Robert-Nicoud, professeur à la Faculté d’économie et de management (GSEM) de l’UNIGE.


60 ans de données compilées pour la Suisse

Pour analyser l’évolution de la composition de la population dans les municipalités suisses, les chercheurs ont analysé quatre types de données pour la période 1950-2010: les données sur les contribuables pour diverses catégories de revenus, les recensements de la population, les données de l’Office fédéral des transports pour l’évolution du réseau autoroutier et l’enquête sur les dépenses des ménages. «Nous avons fait ce travail pour 2480 municipalités suisses, et plus particulièrement pour les 780 municipalités dites non urbaines – soit moins de 10’000 habitant-es – qui ont été connectées au réseau autoroutier, afin de pouvoir observer les effets réels de cette nouvelle accessibilité», précise Raphaël Parchet, professeur à l’Institut de recherche économique de l’USI.


Des effets bénéfiques principalement pour les plus riches

Le premier résultat confirme les études réalisées pour d’autres pays concernant l’augmentation de la population des municipalités nouvellement reliées au réseau autoroutier, avec une augmentation générale de 14% du nombre de ménages. En effet, l’accès au réseau autoroutier améliore l’accès à l’emploi, aux écoles, aux commerces, aux loisirs, aux cercles d’amis et familiaux. Il simplifie aussi les choix de localisation pour les couples avec deux conjoints actifs sur le marché du travail, ou pour les couples séparés avec garde d’enfants partagée, par exemple. «Mais ce qui est nouveau, c’est que le nombre de ménages faisant partie des 10% les plus riches de la population (c’est-à-dire ceux dont le revenu imposable est de plus de 129’500 par an) augmente de 42%, alors que le nombre de ménages se situant en-dessous du revenu imposable médian (gagnant moins de 58’900 CHF par an) – soit le 50% – n’augmente, lui, que de 5%», constate Frédéric Robert-Nicoud. Pourtant, initialement, ces municipalités avaient une sous-représentation des ménages les plus riches. «On voit que la connexion au réseau autoroutier conduit à une meilleure mixité des ménages dans ces municipalités», appuie le chercheur genevois. L’augmentation relative du nombre de ménage aisés s’explique par le fait qu’ils utilisent plus la voiture pour leurs déplacements que les ménages modestes.

Ce premier constat fait partie des effets directs de l’accessibilité, mais l’équipe de recherche souligne également des effets indirects. «Lorsqu’une municipalité est reliée au réseau autoroutier, son accès à l’emploi, aux commerces et aux activités est amélioré, ce qui la rend attractive et conduit à une augmentation des prix des terrains et de l’immobilier, explique Raphaël Parchet. Ainsi, le poids de l’augmentation des prix du foncier repose disproportionnellement sur les ménages les plus pauvres, puisque ceux-ci dépensent environ 40% de leurs revenus pour se loger, contre 15% des revenus pour les ménages les plus aisés». L’accès autoroutier entraine ainsi des bénéfices directs conséquents pour les personnes aisées, alors que les coûts indirects pèsent surtout sur les personnes aux revenus modestes.


L’augmentation de la population conduit à l’étalement urbain

Le dernier constat de cette étude concerne l’empreinte physique des aires métropolitaines. «Lorsqu’une ville est nouvellement connectée au réseau autoroutier, elle s’étale horizontalement, car la connexion au réseau autoroutier rend plus attractive la campagne proche, devenue plus accessible», relève Frédéric Robert-Nicoud. «A long terme, la connexion au réseau autoroutier réduit la population des centres urbains de 29%.» Même constat pour les emplois, dont 18% sont finalement décentralisés.

Cette étude démontre l’effet de la densification du réseau routier sur la composition des municipalités. «L’automobile est un luxe; le logement une nécessité. Ainsi, les avantages de l’accès aux autoroutes profitent de manière disproportionnée aux catégories les plus aisées de la population, et ses coûts affectent de manière disproportionnée les personnes à faibles revenus. En définitive, les communes ayant accès au réseau autoroutier sont devenues attractives pour toutes et tous, mais ce sont les plus aisés qui en ont le plus profité», conclut Raphaël Parchet.

2 nov. 2021

2021