2022

Better assess the needs of people with multiple disabilities

A UNIGE team demonstrates that eye-tracking can be used to assess the perceptual abilities of people with multiple disabilities. A new step towards personalized care.

 


Several pairs of images and scenes were presented to these children in order to assess six social-emotional abilities through visual preferences for: biological or non-biological movements, socially salient or non-social scenes, facial area of the eyes or mouth, joy or anger, objects of shared attention or not, pro-social or anti-social behaviors. © Thalia Cavadini / UNIGE

 

How do we assess the needs of people with severe multiple disabilities? Unable to communicate verbally and physically, this population has nearly  no possibility of expressing itself. They are therefore sometimes considered as «untestable» by the scientific and medical community. Thanks to eye-tracking technology, a team from the University of Geneva (UNIGE) has succeeded in identifying and evaluating certain perceptive and social-emotional abilities in nine children and adolescents with multiple disabilities, opening the way to personalized care. These results can be found in the journal Plos One.


People with multiple disabilities include people with a combination of severe intellectual and motor deficiencies, to which are added various associated medical conditions. The symptoms are expressed in very different ways depending on the individual, but all of them are in a situation of extreme dependence for the execution of the tasks of daily life (washing, dressing, eating). Unable to communicate through language or sensory-motor signs, these people have practically no way to express themselves.

 

How can their needs and preferences be assessed and personalized assistance provided? Until now, it was often considered that this population was “untestable” and that this type of information could only be collected indirectly through the observations of external evaluators (parents, educators, caregivers). This is generally based on questionnaires measuring certain behaviors in terms of frequency (“never” vs. “always”) or intensity (“not at all” vs. “a lot”).

 

Making the eyes «speak»

Research led by Edouard Gentaz, a professor at the Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences of the University of Geneva (UNIGE) and at the Swiss Center for Affective Sciences, shows the opposite. His team demonstrates that eye-tracking - which allows the recording of eye movements in real time - is a promising tool for the direct evaluation of social-emotional and perceptive abilities in this population. Indeed, the ability to look is one of the only behavioral cues frequently preserved in individuals with multiple disabilities.

 

“Eye-tracking has been used for many years to assess the early abilities of babies, who are not yet able to speak and do not yet have fine motor skills,” explains Edouard Gentaz, the study’s last author. At the request of the medico-educational institute La Clé des Champs, based in Saint-Cergues (F), the UNIGE scientists tested reapetedly nine single cases with severe multiple disabilities aged 6 to 16, and recorded their eye movements in response to different visual stimuli.

 

Six abilities assessed

“With eye-tracking, we observed that these children were sensitive to what they saw and that each one of them had his or her own visual preferences,” says Thalia Cavadini, assistant professor in the Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences, first author of the study and grant holder of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF).

 

Several pairs of images and scenes were presented to these children in order to assess six social-emotional abilities through visual preferences for: biological or non-biological movements, socially salient or non-social scenes, facial area of the eyes or mouth, joy or anger, objects of shared attention or not, pro-social or anti-social behaviors. Researchers compared the amount of time each participant spent looking at each image. They then compared these results with those of a control group of 32 two-year-olds without multiple disabilities.

 

Developing “Serious games»

“This method enabled us to highlight unsuspected individual skills in each of the nine children tested, such as the ability to orient oneself preferentially towards human and socially salient stimuli or the ability to direct one’s attention towards the object that another person is looking at. This discovery opens the way to personalized stimulation and care devices, as long as the ability to look is preserved, which is not the case for all people with multiple disabilities,” explains Edouard Gentaz.

 

Thanks to this work, eye-tracking is now a reliable device for assessing certain perceptual and social-emotional abilities of people with multiple disabilities, while taking into account their individual characteristics. On the basis of this research, “serious games” - video games with an educational or communicative purpose - adapted to each child tested are also being developed. The objective, in the long term, would be to establish a more fluid communication with this population.

25 Apr 2022

2022

2022

Mieux évaluer les besoins des personnes polyhandicapées

Une équipe de l’UNIGE démontre que l’oculométrie permet d’évaluer les compétences perceptives des personnes en situation de polyhandicap. Un pas vers une prise en charge personnalisée.

 



Plusieurs paires d’images et scènes ont été soumises à ces enfants afin d’évaluer six compétences visuelles différentes: mouvements biologiques ou non-biologiques, scènes socialement saillantes ou non-sociales, zone faciale des yeux ou bouche, joie ou colère, objets d’attention partagée ou non, comportements pro-sociaux ou anti-sociaux. © Thalia Cavadini / UNIGE

 

Comment évaluer les besoins des personnes en situation de polyhandicap grave? Dans l’incapacité de communiquer verbalement et physiquement, cette population n’a pratiquement aucun moyen de s’exprimer. Elle est ainsi parfois considérée comme «intestable» par le milieu scientifique et médical. Grâce à des techniques d’oculométrie, ou «eye-tracking», une équipe de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) est parvenue à mettre en évidence et à évaluer certaines compétences perceptives et socio-émotionnelles chez neuf enfants et adolescents présentant un polyhandicap, ouvrant la voie à une prise en charge personnalisée. Ces résultats sont à découvrir dans la revue Plos One.

 

Défini comme un «handicap grave à expressions multiples», le polyhandicap regroupe des personnes présentant une combinaison de déficiences intellectuelles et motrices sévères, auxquelles s’ajoutent diverses affections médicales associées. Si les symptomatologies s’expriment de manière très variée selon les individus, toutes et tous sont en situation d’extrême dépendance pour l’exécution des actes de la vie quotidienne (toilette, habillage, repas). Dans l’incapacité de communiquer par le langage ou par signes sensori-moteurs, ces personnes n’ont pratiquement aucun moyen de s’exprimer.

Dès lors, comment évaluer leurs besoins, leurs préférences et fournir une assistance personnalisée? Jusque-là, on considérait souvent que cette population était «intestable» et que ce type d’information ne pouvait être collectée que de manière indirecte par des évaluateurs tiers (parents, éducateurs/trices, soignant-es). Ceci sur la base de questionnaires mesurant certains comportements en termes de fréquence («jamais» vs. «systématiquement») ou d’intensité («pas du tout» vs. «énormément»).

Faire «parler» le regard

Aujourd’hui, une recherche pilotée par Edouard Gentaz, professeur ordinaire au sein de la Faculté de psychologie et sciences de l’éducation de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) et du Centre Suisse des sciences affectives, démontre le contraire. Son équipe est parvenue à démontrer que l’oculométrie ou «eye-tracking» – qui permet d’enregistrer en temps réel les mouvements oculaires – est un outil prometteur pour l’évaluation directe des compétences socio-émotionnelles et perceptives de cette population. Le regard est en effet l’un des seuls indices comportementaux fréquemment préservé chez les individus polyhandicapés.

«L’eye-tracking est utilisé depuis de nombreuses années pour évaluer les compétences des bébés, qui ne sont pas encore en capacité de parler et ne disposent pas encore de motricité fine», explique Edouard Gentaz, dernier auteur de l’étude. A la demande de l’institut médico-éducatif La Clé des Champs, basé à Saint-Cergues (F), les scientifiques de l’UNIGE ont testé un groupe de neuf enfants et adolescents âgés de 6 à 16 ans en situation de polyhandicap grave, et ont enregistré les mouvements oculaires en réponse à différents stimuli visuels.

Six compétences évaluées

«Grâce l’eye-tracking, nous avons observé que ces enfants étaient sensibles à ce qu’ils voyaient et que chacun-e d’entre elles et eux manifestait des préférences visuelles propres», indique Thalia Cavadini, assistante-doctorante au sein de la Faculté de psychologie et sciences de l’éducation, première auteure de l’étude et boursière du Fonds national suisse (FNS).

Plusieurs paires d’images et scènes ont été soumises à ces enfants afin d’évaluer six compétences visuelles différentes: mouvements biologiques ou non-biologiques, scènes socialement saillantes ou non-sociales, zone faciale des yeux ou bouche, joie ou colère, objets d’attention partagée ou non, comportements pro-sociaux ou anti-sociaux. Les chercheurs/euses ont comparé le temps passé par les regards de chaque participant-e sur chacune des images. Ils ont ensuite comparé ces résultats avec ceux d’un groupe témoin composée de 32 enfants de deux ans ne souffrant pas de polyhandicap.

Des «serious games» en cours de développement

«Cette méthode nous a permis de mettre en évidence des compétences individuelles insoupçonnées chez chacun-e des neuf enfants testés, comme la capacité à s’orienter préférentiellement vers des stimuli humains et socialement saillants ou la capacité à diriger son attention vers l’objet qu’une autre personne est en train de regarder. Cette découverte ouvre la voie à des dispositifs de stimulation et de prise en charge personnalisées, pour autant que la capacité de regarder soit préservée, ce qui n’est pas le cas chez toutes les personnes en situation de polyhandicap», explique Edouard Gentaz.

Grâce à ces travaux, l’«eye-tracking» fait désormais figure de dispositif fiable pour l’évaluation de certaines compétences perceptives et socio-émotionnelles des personnes polyhandicapées, tout en tenant compte de leurs particularités individuelles. Sur la base de ces recherches, des «serious games» – soit des jeux vidéo à visée pédagogique ou  communicationnelle – adaptés à chaque enfant testé sont également en cours de développement. L’objectif, à terme, serait d’établir une communication plus fluide avec cette population.

25 avr. 2022

2022