Programs Offered

Excellence Master Fellowships

The Faculty of Science of the University of Geneva is an internationally recognized leading research institution. This cutting-edge research covers a broad range of scientific disciplines: astronomy, biology, chemistry and biochemistry, computer science, mathematics, physics, pharmaceutical sciences, earth sciences and the environment. The Faculty hosts three National Centres of Competence in Research of the highly competitive Swiss National Sciences Foundation (Chemical Biology; SwissMAP; Planets) as well as many European research projects. The Masters of the Faculty of Science constitute an ideal training base for an academic but also a professional development, opening on careers in industry, teaching, administration in sciences, communication and media... The programs Master's degrees are either entirely in English, or in English and French (see the descriptions of each program).

The Faculty of Science, with the support of external partners, has established an Excellence Fellowship program open to outstanding and highly motivated students who wish to pursue a Master of Science degree in one of the disciplines covered by the Faculty1. Candidate selection is based on excellence.

The Excellence Fellowship consists of a grant amounting to CHF 10'000 to CHF 15’000/year (no teaching duties); it is awarded for one year and extended for the regular duration of the chosen Master's program (three or four semesters) provided the applicant is academically successful at the end of his/her first semester of studies.


Regardless of your home university, whether you have passed or are doing a brilliant bachelor degree, and that you are one of the best in your year2, this program is for you! You must meet the admission criteria of the Master of your choice3 and be selected on the basis of the application file for an Excellence Fellowship.

The application (in English or French) must include the following documents in the form of a SINGLE pdf file:

  • A scan of your national identity card or passport.
  • A scan of your UNIGE card or if you are not yet a UNIGE student, the mail of the central administration named “accuse-reception de votre demande d'immatriculation” (proof you have started the matriculation process).
  • A Curriculum Vitae (2 pages maximum).
  • The transcript of exams passed during the bachelor education, with all grades.
  • A motivation letter in which you describe your specific scientific interests and your motivation to pursue a Master of Science program at the University of Geneva.
  • If possible: Letters of references from two professors (preferably sent by them directly to Excellence-Master-Sciences(at)unige.ch) attesting your aptitude to this program.
  • Any other pertinent information like results of GRE (General requirement examination), of TOEFL or other language test.

The application is made online . After registering, you will receive an e-mail containing a personal link allowing you to fill out the application form.

Next application deadline is 15 March 2018 (for Masters starting September 17, 2018).

For the application to be considered, each student has to fulfill the enrollment procedure as described on the Admissions office website.

IF ALL THE ABOVE MENTIONED CLAUSES ARE NOT COMPLETED, THE APPLICATION FILE WOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED.

Additional information is available at http://www.unige.ch/sciences/masters/.


 

Logos-602_new.jpg

 


  1. Complete list of the Master programs under http://www.unige.ch/sciences/Masters
  2. Students who have already started a Master programme at the Faculty of Science can no longer apply for the Excellence Master Fellowship
  3. Additional information can be obtained from the Masters coordinators or the Academic advisor

Formations proposées

Bourses Master d'excellence

La Faculté des sciences de l’Université de Genève est une institution de recherche scientifique de premier rang, reconnue au niveau international. Cette recherche de pointe couvre un large champ de disciplines scientifiques: astronomie, biologie, chimie et biochimie, informatique, mathématiques, physique, sciences pharmaceutiques, sciences de la Terre et de l’environnement. La Faculté héberge trois Pôles d’excellence du Fonds National Suisse de la Recherche Scientifique (Chemical Biology; SwissMAP; Planets) ainsi que de nombreux projets de recherche européens. Les Masters de la Faculté des sciences constituent une base de formation idéale pour un développement académique mais également professionnel, ouvrant sur des carrières dans l’industrie, l’enseignement, l’administration des sciences, la communication et des médias... Les programmes de Master sont soit intégralement en anglais, soit en anglais et en français (voir les descriptifs de chaque programme).

La Faculté des sciences, avec le soutien de partenaires externes, a établi un programme de bourses d’excellence ouvert aux étudiant·e·s exceptionnel·le·s et très motivé·e·s qui veulent poursuivre un Master en sciences dans l'une des disciplines couvertes par la Faculté1. La sélection des candidat·e·s est basée sur l’excellence.

La bourse d’excellence consiste en un montant de CHF 10'000.- à CHF 15'000.- par année; cette bourse est allouée pour une année et prolongée pour la durée normale du programme de Master choisi (trois ou quatre semestres) en cas de succès du/de la candidat·e à la fin de son premier semestre d’études.


Quelle que soit votre Université d’origine, si vous avez réussi ou êtes en train de réussir brillament vos études de Bachelor, et que vous faites partie des meilleur·e·s de votre année2, ce programme est pour vous ! Vous devez remplir les critères d’admission du Master de votre choix3 et être sélectionné·e sur la base du dossier de candidature à une bourse d’excellence.

La candidature (en français ou anglais) doit inclure les documents suivants sous la forme d’un SEUL fichier pdf :

  • Un scan de votre carte d'identité nationale ou de votre passeport.
  • Un scan de votre carte UNIGE ou si vous n'êtes pas encore étudiant·e à l'UNIGE , le courrier de l'administration centrale dénommé "Accusé réception de votre demande d'immatriculation" (preuve que vous avez entamé le processus d'immatriculation).
  • Un Curriculum Vitae (2 pages maximum).
  • Le procès-verbal des examens passés durant les études en Bachelor incluant toutes les notes.
  • Une lettre de motivation dans laquellle vous décrivez vos intérêts scientifiques spécifiques et votre motivation à poursuivre un programme de Master en science à l’Université de Genève.
  • Si possible : les lettres de référence de deux professeurs (de préférence envoyées directement à l'adresse Excellence-Master-Sciences(at)unige.ch) attestant de votre aptitute à ce programme.
  • Toute autre information utile, comme les résultats du GRE (General requirement examination), du TOEFL ou d'autres examens de langues.

Le dépôt de candidature se fait en ligne . Après vous être inscrit, vous recevrez un e-mail contenant un lien personnel vous permettant de remplir le formulaire de candidature.

Le prochain délai est le 15 mars 2018 (pour les Masters commençant le 17 septembre 2018).

Attention Pour que votre candidature soit prise en compte, vous avez l’obligation de vous immatriculer selon la procédure décrite sur le site Web du Service des admissions.

SI TOUTES LES CONDITIONS CI-DESSUS NE SONT PAS DÛMENT REMPLIES, LA FACULTÉ DES SCIENCES SE RÉSERVE LE DROIT DE NE PAS DONNER SUITE À VOTRE DOSSIER.

Des informations complémentaires sur les Masters à la Faculté des sciences sont disponibles sur http://www.unige.ch/sciences/Masters.


 

Logos-602_new.jpg

 

  1. Liste complète sous http://www.unige.ch/sciences/Masters
  2. Les étudiants ayant déjà commencé un programme de Master à la Faculté des sciences ne peuvent pas demander une bourse d’excellence
  3. Des informations complémentaires peuvent être obtenues auprès des coordinateurs de Masters ou du conseiller aux études