Team

Kayla Coppens

Photo
Mrs Kayla Coppens

PhD - Assistant since 01.02.2022

B201, Uni Carl Vogt
+41 22 379 03 28
E-mail


PhD student and co-founder of aneco, I am engaged in decentralized and ecological wastewater treatment and the valorization of recovered resources. My research project is with both the Department F.-A. Forel for environmental and aquatic sciences (Environmental Physical Chemistry and Environmental Microbiology groups) and the Department for Environmental Governance and Territorial Development.

Specifically, I am studying the viability of vermifiltration for domestic wastewater treatment and the potential enduses of both treated wastewater and vermicompost. My project is based on the vermifilter pilot project installed at the housing cooperative, Equilibre, in Geneva, which treats the wastewaters of 112 people since 2017. My research aims to create a thorough understanding on how vermifiltration treats domestic wastewater effluents, how it conforms to current quality standards and the mass balance of micropollutants, heavy metals, and microplastics throughout the treatment processes. 

Before starting my PhD, I did my B.S. in Biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin, Madison and my MSc. in environmental sciences at the University of Geneva. I also co-founded both aneco and VaLoo, the Swiss network for circular sanitation.


Team

Equipe

Kayla Coppens

Photo
Mme Kayla Coppens

Doctorante - Assistante dès le 01.02.2022

B201, Uni Carl Vogt
+41 22 379 03 28
Courriel


Doctorante et co-fondatrice d'aneco, je suis engagée dans le traitement décentralisé et écologique des eaux usées et la valorisation des ressources récupérées. Mon projet de recherche s'inscrit à la fois dans le cadre du Département F.-A. Forel pour les sciences environnementales et aquatiques (groupes Physico-Chimie Environnementale et Microbiologie environnementale) et le département Gouvernance de l’Environnement et Développement Territorial.

Plus précisément, j'étudie la viabilité de la lombrifiltration pour le traitement des eaux usées domestiques et les utilisations potentielles des eaux usées traitées et du lombricompost. Mon projet est basé sur le projet pilote de vermifiltration installé  à la coopérative d'habitation, Equilibre, à Genève, qui traite les eaux usées de 112 personnes depuis 2017. Ma recherche vise à créer une compréhension approfondie sur la façon dont la vermifiltration traite les effluents d'eaux usées domestiques, comment elle se conforme aux normes de qualité actuelles et le bilan de masse des micropolluants, des métaux lourds et des microplastiques tout au long des processus de traitement. 

Avant de commencer mon doctorat, j'ai fait mon B.S. en biochimie à l'Université de Wisconsin, Madison et mon MSc. en sciences de l’environnement à l'Université de Genève. J'ai également cofondé aneco et VaLoo, le réseau suisse pour l'assainissement circulaire.


Equipe