Corps professoral de la Faculté de droit

Jacques de Werra

Biographical note

Jacques de Werra is ordinary/full professor of the law of obligations (contract law) and of intellectual property law at the Faculty of Law. He is the Director of the Digital Law Center (www.digitallawcenter.ch) which was created at the Faculty of Law in 2020.

He was Vice-Rector of the University of Geneva (July 2015 - July 2019) where he was in charge of scientific information, technology transfer, relations with international organizations and the of University-wide project "Digital University". He piloted the institutional digital strategy, which led to the adoption of the University's digital strategy and to the implementing action plan (at the end of 2018).

Jacques de Werra obtained a doctorate in law from the University of Lausanne in 1997, in the course of which he completed a research stay at the Max-Planck-Institut für Geistiges Eigentum, Wettbewerbs- und Steuerrecht in Munich financed by a scholarship from the Deutsche Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht e.V. After being admitted to the Bar of the Canton of Geneva in 1999, he obtained a Master of Laws degree (LL.M.) and did research as a visiting scholar at Columbia Law School in New York with the support of a grant from the Swiss National Science Foundation (Fonds National de la Recherche Scientifique) and was admitted to the New York Bar (2002).

Prior to joining the Faculty, Jacques de Werra practiced commercial and intellectual property law for several years in a business law firm in Zurich and in Geneva and also had the opportunity to work abroad (Brussels and New York) in law firms specialized in intellectual property law.

Jacques de Werra teaches, publishes and conducts research in contract law. He has launched the website Swiss Contract Law (SCL, www.swisscontract.law) which presents the latest developments of the case law relating to Swiss commercial contracts. He also participated in the scientific project to recast the general part of the Code of Obligations funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (CO 2020). Every year, he publishes a review of the latest development of Swiss contract law for the law journal Le Journal des Tribunaux. He further contributes to the Faculty's activities in the field of the law of obligations. He is also active in intellectual property law and digital law. He coordinates the Summer School on Intellectual Property Law co-organized with the World Intellectual Property Organization since 2011 and launched a summer school on Internet law in 2014, which now continues as the "Digital Law Summer school" (www.digitallaw-geneva.ch ).

Jacques de Werra has been a visiting professor at various leading foreign universities (Stanford Law School, Paris 2 – Panthéon Assas, Catholic University of Louvain, City University of Hong Kong, Nagoya University).

Jacques de Werra organizes every year an international conference on intellectual property (Intellectual Property Law Day / journée de droit de la propriété intellectuelle, www.jdpi.ch ) and publishes an IP book series (p®opriété intelle©tuelle - intelle©tual p®operty, www.pi-ip.ch ). He co-edited the Commentary Romand de droit de la propriété intellectuelle and edited a collective work on licensing contracts in comparative law (Research Handbook on Intellectual Property Licensing) as well as a book (co-edited with Prof. Irene Calboli) on trademark transactions (The Law and Practice of Trademark Transactions).

Jacques de Werra is involved in various research and legal training institutions inside and outside the University in the fields of intellectual property law, information and communication technology law and digital law. He is a member of the editorial board of the Swiss journal of intellectual property, information and competition law (revue sic!), he is a French-speaking editor of the Jusletter, for Internet law and the law of new technologies, and a member of the International Editorial Board of the Cahiers de propriété intellectuelle (Canada) and of the scientific committee of the French law journal Propriétés intellectuelles. He was Faculty Fellow and Associate Faculty at the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University (2012-2014).

Jacques de Werra is also active in the field of alternative dispute resolution/arbitration (particularly for technology disputes) and is on the list of experts of the World Intellectual Property Organization for the resolution of disputes concerning domain names. He is also a member of various professional associations related to his fields of activity, including the Swiss group of the Licensing Executives Society (LES) and the International Literary and Artistic Association (ALAI), the International Association for the Promotion of Teaching and Research in Intellectual Property (ATRIP) and the Swiss Arbitration Association (ASA).

For the media, see Jacques de Werra's page on this website: https://avisdexperts.ch/experts/jacques_de_werra


Corps professoral de la Faculté de droit

Corps professoral de la Faculté de droit

Jacques de Werra

Notice biographique > Enseignements > Publications > Recherches > Contacts

Notice biographique

Jacques de Werra est professeur ordinaire de droit des obligations (droit des contrats) et de droit de la propriété intellectuelle à la Faculté de droit. Il est Directeur du Centre de droit du numérique / Digital Law Center (www.digitallawcenter.ch) qui a été créé à la Faculté de droit en 2020.

Il a été Vice-recteur de l’Université de Genève (juillet 2015 – juillet 2019) où il avait comme dicastères l’information scientifique, le transfert de technologie et de compétence, les relations avec les organisations internationales et le projet transversal « Université numérique ». Il a ainsi piloté la stratégie numérique institutionnelle, ce qui a abouti à l’adoption de la stratégie numérique de l’Université et du plan d’action qui l’accompagne (fin 2018).

Jacques de Werra a obtenu un doctorat en droit de l’Université de Lausanne en 1997, la rédaction de la thèse ayant été achevée dans le cadre d’un séjour de recherche au Max-Planck-Institut für Geistiges Eigentum, Wettbewerbs- und Steuerrecht à Munich financé par une bourse de la Deutsche Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht e.V. Après avoir été admis au barreau du canton de Genève en 1999, il a effectué un séjour d’études (LL.M.) et de recherche en qualité de chercheur invité (visiting scholar) à la Columbia Law School à New York grâce au soutien d’une bourse du Fonds national de la recherche scientifique et a été admis au barreau de New York (2002).

Avant de rejoindre la Faculté, Jacques de Werra a pratiqué le droit commercial et le droit de la propriété intellectuelle pendant plusieurs années dans un cabinet d’avocats d’affaires à Zurich, puis à Genève et a également eu l’occasion de travailler à l’étranger (Bruxelles et New York) dans des cabinets d’avocats spécialisés en droit de la propriété intellectuelle.

Jacques de Werra enseigne, publie et conduit des recherches en droit des contrats. Il a lancé le site Swiss Contract Law (SCL, www.swisscontract.law) qui présente les derniers développements de la jurisprudence suisse rendue en matière de contrats commerciaux. Il a aussi notamment participé au projet de refonte de la partie générale du Code des obligations financé par le Fonds national de la recherche scientifique (CO 2020). Il publie chaque année une chronique des développements du droit suisse des contrats pour la revue Le Journal des Tribunaux. Il contribue à ce titre aux activités de la Faculté dans le domaine du droit des obligations. Il est également actif en matière de droit de la propriété intellectuelle et de droit du numérique. Il coordonne ainsi l'Université d'été (summer school) de droit de la propriété intellectuelle co-organisée avec l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle depuis 2011et a lancé une summer school en droit de l'Internet en 2014, qui se poursuit désormais en tant que « Digital Law Summer school » (www.digitallaw-geneva.ch).

Jacques de Werra a été professeur invité dans différentes universités étrangères de premier plan (Stanford Law School, Paris 2 – Panthéon Assas, Université Catholique de Louvain, City University of Hong Kong, Université de Nagoya).

Jacques de Werra organise chaque année une conférence internationale de propriété intellectuelle (Journée de Droit de la Propriété Intellectuelle, www.jdpi.ch) et édite une collection d’ouvrages de propriété intellectuelle (p®opriété intelle©tuelle - intelle©tual p®operty, www.pi-ip.ch). Il a co-édité le Commentaire Romand de droit de la propriété intellectuelle et a édité un ouvrage collectif sur les contrats de licence en droit comparé (Research Handbook on Intellectual Property Licensing) ainsi qu’un ouvrage (co-édité avec la Prof. Irene Calboli) sur les contrats en matière de marques (The Law and Practice of Trademark Transactions).

Jacques de Werra s’engage dans différentes institutions de recherche et de formation juridique internes et externes à l’Université en matière de droit de la propriété intellectuelle et de droit des technologies de l’information et de la communication et de droit du numérique. Il est ainsi notamment membre du comité éditorial de la revue suisse du droit de la propriété intellectuelle, de l'information et de la concurrence (revue sic!), responsable francophone pour le droit de l'internet et des nouvelles technologies de la Jusletter et membre du Comité éditorial international des Cahiers de propriété intellectuelle (Canada) et du comité scientifique de la revue française Propriétés intellectuelles. Il a été Faculty Fellow et Faculté Associate au Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society de l'Université de Harvard (2012-2014).

Jacques de Werra est actif en matière de résolution alternative/arbitrage des litiges (notamment dans le domaine technologique) et figure ainsi sur la liste d’experts de l’Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle pour la résolution des litiges concernant les noms de domaine. Il  est également membre de diverses associations professionnelles relatives à ses domaines d’activités, notamment du groupe suisse de la Licensing Executives Society (LES) et de l’Association Littéraire et Artistique Internationale (ALAI), de l’Association internationale pour la promotion de l'enseignement et de la recherche en propriété intellectuelle (ATRIP) et de l’Association Suisse d’Arbitrage (ASA).

Pour les médias, voir la page de Jacques de Werra sur le site avisdexperts: https://avisdexperts.ch/experts/jacques_de_werra


Corps professoral de la Faculté de droit