Scientific committee

The committee consists of 11 university academics with internationally-recognised skills in the field of philanthropy. Members are drawn from UNIGE and similar academic institutions abroad.

The committee is responsible for contributing to discussions on — and ensuring the coherence of — the centre's activities, in particular regarding research and teaching:


  • Prof. René Bekkers, Director of the Center for Philanthropic Studies at the Vrije Universiteit (VU) Amsterdam
  • Dr Beth Breeze, Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research, Director of the Centre for Philanthropy of the University of Kent
  • Prof. Hao Liang, Associate Professor of Finance, Lee Kong Chian School of Business, Singapore Management University
  • Prof. Richard Steinberg, Professor of Philanthropic Studies at the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy and Professor of Economics at IUPUI


"This scientific committee acts as a sounding board, validating the relevance and quality of the thematic axes chosen by the Centre and its academic activities. The diversity of its profiles, in terms of skills, geographical and cultural origins and gender, reflects the Centre's desire to approach this rapidly evolving sector in a multidisciplinary, innovative and value-added manner." 

Prof. Henry Peter, Head, Geneva Centre for Philanthropy