Introduction to Open Access

Plan S

Plan S is an initiative for Open Access publishing that was launched in September 2018, and updated in May 2019. The plan is supported by cOAlition S, an international consortium of research funders. Other entities, including the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), support the approach but are not part of the Consortium (see list of consortium members and supporters).

With effect from 2021, all scholarly publications on the results from research funded by public or private grants provided by national, regional and international research councils and funding bodies, must be published in Open Access Journals, on Open Access Platforms, or made immediately available through Open Access Repositories without embargo.

Plan S sets out 10 guiding principles, including for example:

  • the use of open licenses (e.g. CC-BY)
  • a ban on publication in hybrid journals
  • transparency on publication costs
  • possibility for publishers to have a grace period until end of 2014 if they sign transformative agreements
  • revision of the research assessment (no more use of impact factors).

The practical aspects of this plan are described in an implementation guidance that lists 10 development items, two of them related to the infrastructure (repositories...)

Impact for UNIGE researchers

Only persons who have obtained funds from cOAlition S organizations are directly affected by Plan S. Research funded by the SNSF is not currently concerned, except in the case of co-financing or collaboration with European research groups. It should be noted that sanctions for researchers who have not complied with the conditions of Plan S are expected.

Am I concerned?

Members of cOAlition S (as of July 10th 2019)

  • Austria: Austrian Science Fund
  • European Commission: European Research Council
  • Finland: Academy of Finland
  • France: Agence Nationale de la Recherche
  • Ireland: Science Foundation Ireland
  • Italy: Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare
  • Luxembourg: Luxembourger National Research Fund
  • Netherlands: Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research
  • Norway: Research Council of Norway
  • Poland: National Science Centre
  • Slovenia: Slovenian Research Agency
  • Sweden: Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development (Formas)
  • Sweden: Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare (Forte)
  • Sweden: Vinnova
  • Jordan: Higher Council for Science and Technology
  • Zambia
  • United Kingdom: United Kingdom Research and Innovation
  • United Kingdom: Wellcome Trust
  • United States: Gates Foundation

 

In Switzerland, the national Open Access strategy is obviously part of this major paradigm shift, and all publicly funded publications shall be made Open Access not after 2024. Swissuniversities, in charge of the implementation of this strategy, is negociating with major international publishers (Wiley, Springer, Elsevier, etc.) to offer Swiss researchers the necessary conditions to publish their research results.

Impact For archive ouverte UNIGE

Institutional repositories, like Archive ouverte UNIGE, are adequate tools to achieve the immediate Open Access desired by Plan S. Authors are encouraged to deposit their publications, regardless of where they were originally published (subscription journal, OA platform, etc.), in the final version of the manuscript (Author Accepted Manuscript) or in the published version (Version of Record).

Plan S is aiming a high level of services from institutional repositories, and technical adaptations are necessary in the Archive ouverte to meet all requirements (terminology, metadata, licenses...)

Introduction à l'Open Access

Plan S

Le Plan S est une initiative de publication en libre accès lancée en septembre 2018, révisée le 30 mai 2019 à la suite d'une campagne de consultation publique. Les initiateurs sont regroupés dans la cOAlition S, un consortium international d'une douzaine de bailleurs de fonds de la recherche coordonné par Science Europe. D'autres entités, dont le Fonds national suisse (FNS), soutiennent la démarche sans pour autant faire partie du Consortium (voir la liste des membres du consortium et des soutiens).

With effect from 2021, all scholarly publications on the results from research funded by public or private grants provided by national, regional and international research councils and funding bodies, must be published in Open Access Journals, on Open Access Platforms, or made immediately available through Open Access Repositories without embargo.

Le Plan S énonce 10 principes directeurs, dont par exemple :

  • l'utilisation de licences ouvertes (par exemple CC-BY)
  • le non-soutien financier aux publications dans des revues hybrides
  • la transparence des frais de publication (APC)
  • la possibilité pour les éditeurs de bénéficier d'une période de transition (jusqu'en 2024) pour passer à un modèle Open Access (engagement formel nécessaire)
  • la volonté de revoir la méthode de l'évaluation de la recherche (abandon du facteur d'impact par ex.)

Les aspects pratiques de la mise en œuvre de ce plan sont décrits dans une directive (implementation guidance) qui liste 10 axes d'implémentation, dont deux techniques concernant les infrastructures.

Impact pour les chercheurs et chercheuses UNIGE

Seules les personnes ayant obtenus des fonds des membres de la cOAlition S sont soumises au Plan S. Les recherches financées par le FNS ne sont pour l'instant pas concernées, sauf en cas de cofinancement ou de collaboration avec des groupes de recherche européens. A relever que des sanctions pour les auteurs et autrices n'ayant pas respecté les conditions du Plan S sont prévues.

Suis-je concerné·e ?

Les membres de la cOAlition S (10 juillet 2019)

  • Austria: Austrian Science Fund
  • European Commission: European Research Council
  • Finland: Academy of Finland
  • France: Agence Nationale de la Recherche
  • Ireland: Science Foundation Ireland
  • Italy: Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare
  • Luxembourg: Luxembourger National Research Fund
  • Netherlands: Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research
  • Norway: Research Council of Norway
  • Poland: National Science Centre
  • Slovenia: Slovenian Research Agency
  • Sweden: Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development (Formas)
  • Sweden: Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare (Forte)
  • Sweden: Vinnova
  • Jordan: Higher Council for Science and Technology
  • Zambia
  • United Kingdom: United Kingdom Research and Innovation
  • United Kingdom: Wellcome Trust
  • United States: Gates Foundation

 

En Suisse, la stratégie nationale d'Open Access s'inscrit évidemment dans ce changement de paradigmes majeur, et 100% des publications financées par des fonds publics devront être en accès libre d'ici à 2024. Swissuniversities, en charge du pilotage de cette stratégie nationale, négocie actuellement avec les grands éditeurs internationaux (Wiley, Springer, Elsevier...) pour trouver des solutions pour les chercheurs et chercheuses suisses.

Impact pour l'archive ouverte UNIGE

Les archives institutionnelles, telles l’Archive ouverte UNIGE, sont des outils adéquats pour atteindre l’Open Access immédiat voulu par le Plan S. Les auteurs sont encouragés à y déposer leurs publications, indépendamment du lieu de publication d’origine (revue sur abonnement, plateforme OA, etc.), dans la version finale du manuscrit (Author Accepted Manuscript) ou dans la version publiée (Version of Record).

Le Plan S prévoit un niveau élevé de services pour les archives institutionnelles, et des adaptations techniques sont nécessaires dans l'Archive ouverte pour répondre à toutes les exigences (terminologie, métadonnées, licences...)