Programs and doctoral schools

The aim of a doctoral programme is to

  • deepening disciplinary knowledge
  • developing methodological skills
  • acquiring cross-disciplinary skills
  • integrating doctoral students into a national and/or international community.

The University of Geneva offers around fifty doctoral programmes. Please refer to the website for details of how to apply for each programme.


CUSO PhD programs

For several years, the University of Geneva has been developing doctoral programmes in its faculties or in collaboration with the Universities of Fribourg, Lausanne and Neuchâtel, within the framework of the Conference of Universities of Western Switzerland (CUSO).

CUSO finances, coordinates and organises joint and collective doctoral activities on behalf of its members (the Universities of Fribourg, Geneva, Lausanne and Neuchâtel), associate members (IHEID, ISDC) and partners (University of Bern). It currently offers 33 doctoral programmes.