in memoriam Vaughan Jones

vjphoto50-800x419.jpg

The mathematician Vaughan Jones passed away on September 6, 2020. This page dedicated to his memory.

Statement from the Section of mathematics

It is with great sadness that we learnt of the passing of our colleague and friend, Vaughan Jones, on Sunday 6th September 2020, a few months short of his 68th birthday.

Vaughan was a student in Geneva, first in physics (1974-1976) then in mathematics (1976-1980), and he completed his doctorate under the supervision of André Haefliger in 1979. Since then he was a regular visitor to Geneva, influencing so many people through seminars and informal discussions. He was due to return again in November as an invited speaker for the Wright Colloquium. During many years, he taught so much mathematics to his students, his colleagues and his own teachers. With a great sense of humour, he exuded enthusiasm and generosity, be it about his love of mathematics, music or sport - all in his unique down-to-earth style.

In May 2019, Wendy and Vaughan celebrated 40 years of marriage in Geneva, the city where they first met.

Vaughan Jones was born in Gisborne, New Zealand, on December 31, 1952. After his studies, first in Auckland, then in Geneva, he held appointments at a number of universities in the US (Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Berkeley and Vanderbildt) along with a position at the University of Auckland. His mathematical discoveries were recognised by the awarding in 1990 of a Fields Medal - the highest distinction in mathematics (along with the Abel Prize). He also received the Nessim Habif Prize at the Dies Academicus 2007 in Geneva, as well as many other prestigious awards and honours.

His mathematical work had a profound impact on a number of fields, including topology, functional analysis and mathematical physics. In 1984 he discovered a remarkable connection between von Neumann algebras and knot theory. This allowed him to define a new invariant of knots which now bears his name, the Jones polynomial, which has become one of the fundamental objects in knot theory. Other important contributions include the study of knot invariants using ideas coming from statistical physics, results about quantum groups and their representations, and the invention and development of the theory of planar algebras. More recently Vaughan initiated a programme to connect knot theory with Thompson's group, an idea currently attracting considerable interest.

A testimony from the University Choir: Vaughan Jones, mathematician but also a good musician during his Geneva years

During his studies, Vaughan sung several years at the University Choir. Excellent baritone, reserved but full of humor, happy for the present moment, a good companion in the ranks of his desk, whom we particularly discovered during a trip to Poland: about thirty choristers, with their conductor Chen Liang-Sheng, accompanied by Bernard Ducret, then secretary general of the University, were the guests of the Catholic University of Lublin.
Without speaking Polish, Vaughan managed to get in touch with the local population, and to return from free time in the countryside, with a smile on his face and local products in his backpack.
He also was a violinist and had made chamber music with Professor André Haefliger, his thesis supervisor, and with Chen Liang-Sheng.
In 1984, during the Dies academicus organized that year at St-Pierre Cathedral to mark the 425th anniversary of the University, as the Choir was being set up, Vaughan arrived, with laughing eyes, a score of the Messiah by Handel under his arm. While visiting the Mathematics section, he joined us by surprise as we were about to present excerpts from a work we had worked on together a few years earlier.
A group of former choristers met him during another Dies Academicus, that of 2007, in which he was presented with the Nessim Habif Prize.
Vaughan, thank you and Salve on the "road" you now are walking along!

Links:

10 January 2020

News

top

in memoriam Vaughan Jones

vjphoto50-800x419.jpg

Le mathématicien Vaughan Jones est décédé le 6 septembre 2020. Cette page dédiée à sa mémoire.

Communiqué de la Section de mathématiques

C’est avec une profonde tristesse que nous apprenons la mort de notre collègue et ami Vaughan Jones, dimanche soir 6 septembre 2020, quelques mois avant ses 68 ans.

Il fut étudiant à Genève, d’abord en physique (1974-1976) puis en mathématiques (1976-1980), et il acheva en 1979 son doctorat en mathématiques, supervisé par le professeur André Haefliger. Il revenait régulièrement à Genève où ses exposés et ses discussions informelles ont laissé de profondes traces, et où il devait intervenir en novembre prochain dans le cadre du colloque Wright. Il a appris beaucoup de mathématiques à ses étudiants, ses maîtres et ses collègues. Il savait aussi communiquer son enthousiasme, sa générosité et son humour à tous les amis avec qui il aimait partager ses mathématiques, sa musique, ses sports, et son art de vivre. Tout cela fut dignement fêté en mai 2019 lorsque Wendy et Vaughan ont célébré leur rencontre et leur mariage à Genève, 40 ans plus tôt.

Vaughan Jones est né à Gisborne, en Nouvelle Zélande, le 31 décembre 1952. Après ses études dans son pays natal, un diplôme de l’Université d’Auckland en 1969 et ses études à Genève jusqu’en 1980, il fut professeur dans plusieurs universités aux Etats-Unis (Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Berkeley et Vanderbildt) et à Auckland. Ses découvertes mathématiques ont été reconnues par la médaille Fields, reçue en 1990 — il s’agit de la plus haute distinction (avec le prix Abel) en mathématiques.

Il a aussi reçu à Genève le Prix Nessim Habif lors du Dies Academicus 2007, ainsi que de nombreux autres prix et nominations de prestige.

Ses travaux mathématiques ont marqué profondément plusieurs domaines, dont la topologie, l’analyse fonctionnelle, et la physique mathématique. C’est en 1984 qu’il découvrit un lien tout à fait nouveau entre les algèbres de von Neumann et la théorie des noeuds, c’est-à-dire des courbes fermées de l’espace usuel. Ce lien lui permit de définir un invariant des noeuds qui porte son nom, le polynôme de Jones, et qui est devenu un des objets principaux de la théorie. Parmi ses travaux les plus importants figurent aussi l’étude d’autres invariants de noeuds exploitant des idées de physique statistique, ses résultats sur les groupes quantiques et leurs représentations, et la théorie des algèbres planaires qu’il a largement contribué à fonder. Plus récemment, il avait initié un programme liant la topologie des noeuds et le groupe dit de Thompson, sujet qui est actuellement en plein développement.

Un témoignage du Chœur universitaire: Vaughan Jones, mathématicien mais aussi bon musicien pendant ses années genevoises.

Durant ses études, Vaughan a chanté plusieurs années au Chœur universitaire. Excellent baryton, réservé mais plein d'humour, heureux du moment présent, bon compagnon des rangs de son pupitre, que nous avons particulièrement découvert au cours d'un voyage en Pologne : une trentaine de choristes, avec leur chef Chen Liang-Sheng, accompagnés de Bernard Ducret, alors secrétaire général de l'Université, étaient les invités de l'Université Catholique de Lublin. Sans parler le polonais, Vaughan réussissait à entrer en contact avec la population locale, et à rentrer des temps libres en pleine campagne, le sourire aux lèvres, avec des produits locaux dans son sac à dos.
Il était également violoniste et avait fait de la musique de chambre avec le professeur André Haefliger, son directeur de thèse, et avec Chen Liang-Sheng.
En 1984, lors du Dies academicus organisé cette année-là à la Cathédrale St-Pierre pour marquer le 425 e anniversaire de l'Université, alors que le Chœur se mettait en place, Vaughan est arrivé, les yeux rieurs, une partition du Messie de Haendel sous le bras. De passage à la section de Mathématiques, il nous faisait la surprise de nous rejoindre alors que nous nous apprêtions à présenter des extraits d'une œuvre que nous avions travaillée ensemble quelques années plus tôt. Un groupe d'anciens choristes l'a retrouvé au cours d'un autre Dies academicus, celui de 2007, au cours duquel lui était remis le prix Nessim Habif.

Merci Vaughan, et bonne « route » !

Liens:

Statement from the Family of Sir Vaughan Jones

8 septembre 2020

A la une

top