[856] Laboratory for Transplantation Immunology

The current organ shortage in transplantation medicine stimulates the exploration of new strategies to expand the donor pool including the utilization of living donors, ABO-incompatible grafts and possibly xenotransplantation. Our research focuses on:

1. Preformed natural antibodies, such as anti-A/B histo-blood group antibodies, mediate hyper-acute graft rejection in solid organ transplantation but do not seem to affect the outcome of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT). Thus, ABO-incompatible HSCT may serve as an in vivo model to study the immunological mechanisms leading to successful carbohydrate-antigen mismatched transplantation. Our goal is to analyze the mechanisms such as deletion or anergy of B cells and understand the mechanisms of B cell tolerance induction in recipients of solid organ transplantation.

2. Cellular immune responses represent a major obstacle to successful transplantation. A major challenge in organ transplantation is to impair recipients'potential to reject the transplanted organ while preserving its function and limit the adverse effect of immunosuppression on patients' overall survival. The immunosuppressive regimens are mostly assessed on T and B lymphocytes but remain poorly explored with regard to post-transplant function and reconstitution of other immune effector cells, such as natural killer (NK) cells.

3. Porcine and human endothelial cells (EC) share the expression of receptors involved in the adhesion and transmigration of leukocytes into the graft. The interactions between human leukocytes and porcine EC depend on the existence of intact cross-species receptor-ligand interactions. Blocking of the crucial receptors for adhesion and transmigration, in combination with prevention of hyperacute rejection, may lead to the clinical feasibility of pig-to-human xenotransplantation. The goal of this project is to define the mechanisms of interactions between human leukocyte subsets and porcine EC in chemotaxis, adhesion, and transendothelial migration.

4. The induction of antigen-specific immunological tolerance, leaving the immune system intact, to prevent the cellular immune responses in transplantation is an attractive alternative for xenotranplantation. Naturally occurring CD4+CD25+Foxp3+ regulatory T (Treg) cells, contribute to immune regulation and tolerance induction in vivo. Treg cells showed suppressive function of self- and allo-reactive T effectors (Teff) cells in vitro and in vivo. However, the capacity of Treg to suppress the proliferation and Teff cells in response to xenogeneic cells is unknown. The aim of the present study is to investigate these mechanisms of tolerance in this xenogeneic islets transplantation model and to search the potential of ex vivo xenogeneic antigen specific Tregs in the induction of tolerance.

5. Infections represent a major cause of morbidity and mortality post-transplant. Human cytomegalovirus (CMV) establishes life-long latent infection and frequently reactivates in immuno-suppressed transplant recipients which potentially triggers graft rejection. The goal of these reserach is :

1) to elucidate the molecular effects of human CMV infection in porcine and human endothelial cells
2) the resulting influence on human leukocyte chemotaxis, adhesion and transmigration
3) the analyze of effector functions, in particular NK cell responses.

GROUP PUBLICATIONS

top

[856] Groupe Seebach Jorg Dieter (transplantation et immunologie)

Laboratoire de transplantation et immunologie

Le manque de donneurs dans la médecine de la transplantation incite à explorer de nouvelles possibilités pour offrir des organes aux patients en attente d'une greffe; parmi celles-ci, le don vivant, les greffes ABO-incompatibles et éventuellement la xénotransplantation. Notre recherche se concentre sur :

  1. Les anticorps naturels préformés, type anti-A/B du groupe sanguin, qui sont associés à un rejet hyperaigu en transplantation d'organe solide. Cependant, ces anticorps ne semblent pas affecter le pronostic des greffes de cellules souches hématopoïétiques (GCSH). Dans ce sens, les GCSH ABO-incompatibles représentent un excellent modèle in vivo, qui permet de mieux comprendre les mécanismes immunologiques liés à une transplantation ABO-incompatible tolérante. Notre but est d'analyser les cellules B, et de comprendre les mécanismes de tolérance de ces mêmes cellules dans le cadre d'une transplantation d'organe solide.
  2. La réponse immune cellulaire représente un obstacle majeur à la transplantation d'organe. Le défit en transplantation est de pouvoir contrôler à long terme le rejet, tout en préservant la fonction du greffon et en limitant les effets secondaires des immunosuppresseurs. L'effet des médicaments immunosuppressifs est bien étudié sur les lymphocytes T et B, mais reste mal connu quant à l'impact sur d'autres cellules effectives du système immun, comme les cellules "natural killer" (NK).
  3. Les cellules endothéliales humaines et porcines partagent l'expression de récepteurs impliqués dans l'adhésion et la transmigration des leucocytes humains au sein d'une greffe. Ces dernières dépendent de l'existence d'interactions récepteur-ligand qui sont restés intacts inter-espèces. En bloquant ces récepteurs clés tout en prévenant le rejet hyperaigu, une xénotransplantation porcine chez l'humain deviendrait faisable. Le but de ce projet est de définir les mécanismes d'interactions entre leucocytes humains et cellules endothéliales porcines, lors du chemotaxis, de l'adhésion et de la transmigration.
  4. L'induction d'une tolérance immunologique représenterait une issue importante dans la faisabilité d'une xénotransplantation. Les cellules naturelles T régulatrices CD4+CD25+Foxp3+ (Treg) contribuent fortement à la régulation de la réponse immunitaire et potentiellement à l'induction d'une tolérance in vivo. Leur fonction suppressive in vitro et in vivo sur des cellules auto- ou allo-réactives est bien étudiée, mais l'interaction entre Tregs et cellules xenogenéiques est peu connue. Le but de cette étude est d'investiguer les mécanismes de tolérance dans un modèle de xénotransplantation d'îlots pancréatiques et d'étudier les médicaments de recrutement et le potentiel des Tregs antigène-xénogenéique spécifiques cultivés ex vivo dans l'induction d'une tolérance.
  5. Les infections post-transplantation représentent une cause majeure de morbidité et de mortalité. Le cytomégalovirus humain (CMV) est présent chez 80% des personnes en latence et se réactive fréquemment chez les transplantés immunosupprimés, ce qui potentiellement peut aussi induire le rejet du greffon.

Publications du groupe