Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017

Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution.

Jacques Dubochet obtained a Certificate of Molecular Biology at UNIGE and began to study electron microscopy of DNA: “In 1973, I completed my thesis in biophysics at the University of Geneva and the University of Basel with Eduard Kellenberger who taught me biophysics, ethical responsibility and durable friendship.” He was appointed professor at the University of Lausanne as from 1987.

Information about the laureates

4 oct. 2017

News 2017