About us

The Genevan Research group on Emotions, Values and Norms was founded in the summer 2005 by Prof. Kevin Mulligan (Department of philosophy, Geneva), who presided as its head until the summer of 2012. It was created with the aim of concentrating all the research activities of the philosophical wing of the SNF-funded NCCR in the Affective Sciences.

The circumstances of its birth explain its unique nature: the group’s research is first and foremost philosophical, yet this research is conducted in close collaboration with other disciplines, most of them represented in the Swiss Center for Affective Science (CISA). The original members of the group are Otto Bruun, Julien Deonna, Raffaele Rodogno, Fabrice Teroni, and they were joined soon afterward by Olivier Massin. From day one, group members would meet at four o’clock on Thursdays for two hours of discussion about their work and material related to it. This schedule remains to this day. Initially, given its main focus, the group was called the Shame and Guilt Club. It became the I-club when the group’s interests shifted to issues related to emotions and identity.

Since 2008, the group is known under the name of Thumos, which we hope reflects the spirit with which we do philosophy. Many students of all kinds have joined Thumos, and the group has hosted many different research projects, seminars and workshops. It has produced, we hope, some good philosophy.


Past team's photos

Fall 2021


(from left to right: Fabrice Teroni, Agnès Baehni, Michele Ombrato, Joffrey Fuhrer, Angela Abatista, Laura Silva, Steve Humbert-Droz, Florian Cova, Juliette Vazard, Roberto Keller, Julien Deonna)

Fall 2020

thumos fall2020.jpeg

(from left to right: Samia Mahé, Jacques-Henri Vollet, Florian Cova, Rebecca Wallbank, Angela Abatista, Roberto Keller, Antoine Rebourg, Julien Deonna, Fabrice Teroni, Juliette Vazard, Steve Humbert-Droz, Laura Luz Silva, Michele Ombrato, Magalie Schor, Constant Bonard) 

Fall 2019


(from left to right: Edgar Phillips, Roberto Keller, Michele Ombrato, Julien Deonna, Julia Langkau, Florian Cova, Stephan Freivogel, Fabrice Teroni, Constant Bonard, Antoine Rebourg, Joffrey Fuhrer)

Spring 2019


(from left to right: Edgar Phillips, Kris Goffin, Magalie Schor, Steve Humbert-Droz, Michele Ombrato, Fabrice Teroni, Constant Bonard, Julien Deonna, Juliette Vazard, Alexandre Charrier, Arturs Logins, Roberto Keller)

Fall 2018

thumos group 3.1.jpg

(from left to right: Steve Humbert-Droz, Magalie Schor, Kris Goffin, Ariele Niccoli, Fabrice Teroni, Juliette Vazard, Michele Ombrato, Matilde Aliffi, Julia Langkau, Julien Deonna)

Spring 2018

thumos group 2.jpg

(from left to right: Alessandra Yu, Julien Deonna, Juliette Vazard, Daniel Vanello, Alain Pe-Curto, Steve Humbert-Droz, Fritz-Anton Fritzson, Fabrice Teroni, Constant Bonard, Florian Cova)

Spring 2017

thumos group.JPG

(from left to right: Florian Cova, François Jaquet; Julien Deonna, Richard Dub, Fabrice Teroni, Elena Cagnoli Fiecconi, Tristram Oliver-Skuse, Alain Pe-Curto, Arturs Login, Constant Bonard, Michele Ombrato, Mary Carman)