Programmes

Master of Arts in Translation

Our new curriculum offers three new MA in Translation programmes.

Master of Arts in Specialised Translation: This MA provides an in-depth study of the methods and approaches necessary to become a professional translator, with the option of specialising in legal or economic translation (“Legal and Institutional Translation” or “Economic and Financial Translation” specialisation), or translation studies, for those who are interested in teaching or conducting research (“Translation Studies” specialisation).

Master of Arts in Translation and Technologies: The aim of this branch is to produce skilled translators who specialise in translation technology and multilingual engineering, with a focus on translation software, terminology, localisation and project management.

Master of Arts in Translation and Specialised Multilingual Communication: This programme enables future translators to develop their analytical, linguistic, intercultural and group work skills in order to successfully carry out multilingual specialised communication projects. It combines translation work with skills in several different fields: a) corporate communication (multilingual finance and marketing); b) multimedia communication (web, localisation and audiovisual translation); and c) language management (language policy and language diversity management).

These three MAs share certain courses that help develop the necessary skills to become a professional translator. Students are required to complete 90 or 120 ECTS credits, depending on the number of B languages they have. The admissions procedure and entrance exams are the same for all three programmes. Applicants are not obliged to select their programme of study before being admitted, but must decide by their third semester of studies at the latest.

For more info, see the page "Maîtrises universitaires (Ma) en traduction" in French.

Maîtrises (Ma) en traduction

Maîtrises universitaires en traduction dès la rentrée 2017

 

Ma en traduction spécialisée (MATS) : cette Ma propose un approfondissement des méthodes et des approches traductologiques pour la pratique professionnelle, notamment de la traduction juridique ou économique (avec possibilité de mention « traduction juridique et institutionnelle » ou mention « traduction économique et financière »), ou en vue de la recherche ou l’enseignement universitaire (mention « traductologie »).

Ma en traduction et technologies (MATT) : cette filière forme des traducteurs spécialistes polyvalents en nouvelles technologies de la traduction et en ingénierie multilingue, autour de trois grands axes : les outils informatiques pour le traducteur, la terminologie, ainsi que la localisation et la gestion de projets.

Ma en traduction et communication spécialisée multilingue (MATCOM) : ce programme permet aux futurs traducteurs de développer leurs compétences analytiques, linguistiques, interculturelles et de travail en équipe pour mener à bien des projets de communication spécialisée en plusieurs langues. Il combine la formation en traduction avec l’application de ces compétences dans plusieurs contextes et domaines : a) communication des entreprises (finance et marketing multilingue) ; b) communication multimédia (web, localisation et traduction audiovisuelle) ; et c) gestion du multilinguisme (politiques linguistiques et gestion de la diversité linguistique).

Ces trois Ma ont un tronc commun qui assure le développement des compétences nécessaires pour exercer la traduction au niveau professionnel. Les trois programmes se déclinent en deux formats à 120 ou 90 crédits ECTS en fonction du nombre de langues B. L’examen d’admission et la procédure d’admission sur dossier sont les mêmes pour les trois cursus. Le choix de Ma est facultatif avant l’admission et est confirmé au plus tard au troisième semestre d’études.

top