Programmes

Master of Arts in Translation

  • Master of Arts in Specialised Translation
  • Master of Arts in Translation and Technology
  • Master of Arts in Translation and Specialised Multilingual Communication

Combining a strong academic foundation with professional experience

  • Are you fascinated by cultural diversity?
  • Would you like to help these cultures communicate with one another?
  • Are you open to exploring various business sectors in our society?
  • Do you have a gift for languages?

Our MA in Translation programmes are made for you.

These programmes will help you find your place in the fascinating world of translation and confront the challenges related to technological developments. You'll be able to explore various specialised fields under the guidance of our lecturers, who are professional translators and scholars. When you graduate, you will have the skills you need to begin a career as a language professional.



The programme

  • Study programme of three semesters (one B language) or four semesters (two or three B languages)

  • Two to four languages that form your language combination (up to three B languages and one A language, which is your mother tongue or language of education).

  • Different programmes and concentrations that you will decide on in your second semester: specialised translation (legal and institutional, economic and financial, and translation studies), translation technology, and specialised multilingual communication

  • Seven areas of study:
    • Translation and revision
    • Translation studies
    • Fields of expertise (law and economics)
    • Specialised translation (legal, economic and financial, technical, literary)
    • Translation technology
    • Specialised multilingual communication
    • Professional skills and experience (mandatory internship)

Objectives shared by our three MA in Translation programmes

  • Acquire the necessary abilities to become a professional translator
  • Specialise in a particular field
  • Improve your language and methodology skills
  • Further strengthen your written skills in your native language
  • Carry out multilingual projects in various contexts
  • Strengthen your intercultural skills
  • Master the latest translation and language management tools
  • Reflect on the notion of translation
  • Experience firsthand the professional world of translation (mandatory internship and practical seminars)

Description of the different concentrations

  • The Master of Arts in Specialised Translation provides in-depth training in professional methods and approaches to translation. It covers a variety of specialised fields, including law and economics ("Legal and Institutional Translation" and "Economic and Financial Translation" concentrations). The Master of Arts in Specialised Translation also can lead to an academic career (“Translation Studies” concentration).

  • Master of Arts in Translation and Technologies: The aim of this branch is to train skilled translators who are specialised in translation technology and multilingual engineering, with a focus on translation software, terminology, localisation and project management.

  • Master of Arts in Translation and Specialised Multilingual Communication: This programme will help you develop your analytical, linguistic, intercultural and group work skills, providing you with the tools to successfully carry out projects in specialised multilingual communication.  Combines translation with skills in various different fields: a) corporate communication (multilingual finance and marketing); b) multimedia communication (web, localisation and audiovisual translation); and c) language mangement (Language Policy and Planning and diversity management).


These three MAs share certain courses, which help develop the necessary skills to become a professional translator. Students are required to complete 90 or 120 ECTS credits, depending on the number of B languages they have. The entrance exams and admissions process are the same for all three programmes. You do not need to select your concentration before being admitted. You will only have to decide in your second semester of studies. The programme begins in the Autumn semester of each year, and takes three to four semesters to complete. Classes are taught in the languages in your combination. Courses that are common to all language units are taught in French (or English in some cases).

Curriculum

90 ECTS credits (one B language) or 120 ECTS credits (two or three B languges) distributed as follows:

  • Mandatory courses common to all concentrations:
    • 44, 60 or 68 credits distributed as follows: Practical translation and revision seminars, translation studies, specialised fields, translation technology, specialised translation

  • Mandatory courses, depending on your concentration:
  • 12 to 24 credits in specialised translation, translation technology or specialised multilingual communication
  • Electives:
    • 2 to 12 credits from the FTI and/or other UNIGE faculties, or another university in Switzerland or abroad

  • Master's thesis
    • 24 credits

Prospects

Our MA programmes prepare students for a career in translation, revision, localisation and other related fields. Our grads have the option of finding in-house positions or setting up a freelance career. These degrees open the doors to many different types of professional activities and careers: international organisations, NGOs, associations, sports federations, publishing houses, translation agencies, public administration, documentation centres, research institutes, banks, insurance, courts, media, teaching, etc.

Future students: : please register from October to 31 January

Students who began their MA in Translation before September 2017: See the “ Modalités d’application des dispositions transitoires ” section of the curriculum (in French only) (p. 38 ss) and our FAQs for students who began their studies before September 2017.

Useful links and documents

Contacts

Ausbildung

Master (MA) Übersetzen

  • Master Fachübersetzen (MATS)
  • Master Übersetzen und Sprachtechnologien (MATT)
  • Master Übersetzen und mehrsprachige Fachkommunikation

Akademische Basis und professionelle Praxis

  • Sie sind fasziniert von kultureller Vielfalt.
  • Sie möchten zum Dialog zwischen den Kulturen beitragen.
  • Sie sind weltoffen und interessieren sich für die verschiedensten Bereiche unserer Gesellschaft.
  • Sie mögen Sprachen, visieren aber kein rein linguistisches oder literarisches Profil an,

dann sind die Masterstudiengänge Übersetzen wie geschaffen für Sie.

Diese Studiengänge öffnen Ihnen Türen, zeigen Ihnen den Weg zu Ihrem Platz in der faszinierenden Welt der Übersetzung und helfen Ihnen die Herausforderungen der technischen Entwicklungen zu meistern.  Sie werden unter der Führung von Dozierenden aus Praxis und Forschung die verschiedenen Fachgebiete entdecken. Sie werden sich so die notwendigen Fähigkeiten aneignen, um einen mit dem Übersetzen verbunden Beruf ausüben zu können.


formations-matrad-1170x300-blanc15.png


Ausbildung

  • 3 Semester (1 B-Sprache) oder 4 Semester (2 oder 3 B-Sprachen)

  • 2 bis 4 Sprachen (von Anfang an 1 bis 3 B-Sprachen und 1 A-Sprache/Muttersprache, die Ihre Sprachkombination bilden)

  • Spezialierungsmöglichkeit durch die Wahl des Masterstudienganges und des Schwerpunktes (wählbar im zweiten Semester): in Fachübersetzen (Rechts- und institutionelle Übersetzung, Wirtschafts- und Finanzübersetzung), Übersetzungswissenschaft, Übersetzungstechnologien oder in Mehrsprachiger Fachkommunikation

  • 7 Lernbereiche:
    • Traduction argumentée und Traduction et révision
    • Übersetzungswissenschaft
    • Fachbereiche (Recht, Wirtschaft, Technik)
    • Fachübersetzen (Recht, Wirtschaft, Technik, Literatur)
    • Übersetzungstechnologien
    • Mehrsprachige Fachkommunikation
    • Berufsethik und professionelle Praxis (mit obligatorischem Praktikum)

Zum Seitenanfang

Allgemeine Ziele der drei Masterstudiengänge Übersetzen

  • Erlangung der notwendigen Fähigkeiten für die berufliche Praxis des Übersetzens
  • Spezialisierung in einem der angebotenen Bereiche
  • Erweiterung der sprachlichen und methodologischen Kenntnisse
  • Entwicklung der Fähigkeiten Fachtexte in der Muttersprache zu verfassen
  • Abwicklung mehrsprachiger Projekte in verschiedenen Kommunikationsbereichen
  • Weiterentwicklung interkultureller Kompetenzen
  • Verwendung aktueller CAT-Tools
  • Entwicklung des Reflexionsvermögens zum Thema Übersetzen
  • Kennenlernen der beruflichen Praxis (obligatorisches Praktikum und Seminare zur Berufsethik)

Zum Seitenanfang

Profile der Studiengänge

  • Master Fachübersetzen (MATS) :  Dieser Studiengang bietet eine Vertiefung in übersetzungswissenschaftlichen Methoden und Ansätzen für die berufliche Praxis. Er beschäftigt sich mit den verschiedensten Fachbereichen, insbesondere Recht und Wirtschaft (mit der Möglichkeit den Schwerpunkt "Rechts- und institutionelle Übersetzung" oder den Schwerpunkt "Wirtschafts- und Finanzübersetzung" zu wählen). MATS öffnet darüber hinaus den  Weg in die Forschung oder universitäre Lehre (Schwerpunkt "Übersetzungswissenschaft").

  • Master Übersetzen und Sprachtechnologien (MATT) In diesem Studienzweig erlernen Sie den kompetenten Umgang mit modernsten Übersetzungstools und Terminologieverwaltungssystemen. Er bietet drei Achsen: CAT-Tools, Terminologie, Lokalisierung und Projektmanagement.

  • Master Übersetzen und mehrsprachige Fachkommunikation (MATCOM): In diesem Programm entwickeln Sie Ihre analytischen, linguistischen und interkulturellen Kompetenzen sowie ihre Teamfähigkeit, um Projekte in mehrsprachiger Fachkommunikation abwickeln zu können.  Es kombiniert die Übersetzerausbildung mit der Anwendung der Fähigkeiten in verschiedenen Kontexten und Bereichen:  a) Kommunikation zwischen Unternehmen (Finanzen und mehrsprachiges Marketing) ; b) multimediale Kommunikation (Web, Lokalisierung und audiovisuelle Übersetzung ) ; und c) Mehrsprachigkeitsmanagement (Sprachenpolitik und Management sprachlicher Vielfalt).


Im Kernstudium erwerben Sie die Kompetenzen, um anspruchsvolle übersetzungsbezogene Tätigkeiten professionell ausüben zu können.  Die drei Studiengänge werden in zwei Formaten zu 120 oder zu 90 ECTS je nach Anzahl der B-Sprachen angeboten.  Die Aufnahmeprüfung und die Zulassung mit Dossier sind für alle drei Studiengänge gleich.  Die Wahl des Masterstudienganges ist vor der Zulassung fakultativ. Die Bestätigung erfolgt im zweiten Studiensemester. Die Ausbildung beginnt jedes Jahr im Herbstsemester und dauert 3 bis 4 Semester. Die Kurse werden in den Sprachen der gewählten Sprachkombination und in Französisch (fallweise auch in Englisch) abgehalten.


Zum Seitenanfang

Studienprogramm

90 ECTS (1 B-Sprache) oder 120 ECTS (2 oder 3 B-Sprachen) wie folgt aufgeteilt:

  • Pflichtkurse im Kernstudium:
    • 44, 60 oder 68 ECTS aufgeteilt auf die folgenden Bereiche: Traduction argumentée und Revision, Übersetzungswissenschaft, Fachbereiche, Übersetzungstechnologien, Fachübersetzen

  • Pflichtkurse ausserhalb des Kernstudiums je nach gewähltem Fachbereich:
  • 12 bis 24 ECTS in Fachübersetzen, Übersetzungstechnologien oder mehrsprachige Fachkommunikation
  • Optionale Kurse:
    • 2 bis 12 ECTS können wahlweise an der FTI und/oder an anderen Fakultäten der UNIGE oder einer anderen Universität in der Schweiz oder im Ausland erworben werden.

  • Masterarbeit:
    • 24 ECTS

Zum Seitenanfang

Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten

Die Masterstudiengänge bereiten die Studierenden auf eine Tätigkeit im Bereich Übersetzen, Revision, Lokalisierung oder zu Professionalisten in einem verwandten Bereich vor.  Die AbsolventInnen können als Angestellte oder Selbstständige arbeiten.  Die Tätigkeitsbereiche sind sehr weit und die Karrierewege sehr vielfältig:  Internationale Organisationen, NGO, Vereinigungen, Sportvereine, Verlage, Übersetzungsagenturen, Öffentliche Verwaltung, Dokumentationszentren, Forschungsinstitute, Banken, Versicherungen, Gerichte, Medien, Lehre, usw.

Studieninteressierte: Anmeldung ab Oktober bis 31. Januar

Studierende, die den Masterstudiengang Übersetzen vor September 2017 begonnen haben : Bitte informieren Sie sich über die « Modalités d’application des dispositions transitoires » des Studienplans 2017-18 (S. 38 ff.) und die FAQ für Studierende, die ihr Studium vor September 2017 begonnen haben.


Zum Seitenanfang

Nützliche Links und Dokumente zum Download


Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakte


Zum Seitenanfang