Global connections

INcoming students

Students from other universities who would like to come on exchange to the University of Geneva’s Faculty of Translation and Interpreting (FTI) must:

    1. ensure that they fulfill the exchange admission conditions,
    2. have been officially selected by their university according to the instructions of the International Affairs Office,
    3. fill out the online registration form by the given deadline (the deadline is different, depending on whether you come from a university within or outside of Europe. Instructions can be found on the International Affairs Office's website). Please note that you must prepare a curriculum to be approved by your home university before registering online.

For more information, contact the FTI's student exchange secretary's office.

General information

Download the exchange student guide (in French only)

You should choose your courses based on the degree you are doing at your home university (Bachelor courses for BA students and Master courses for MA students).

However, Bachelor students who come to the FTI during the last year of their degree may attend the MA Practical Translation Seminars (“Traduction argumentée”), if their level is deemed to be adequate by the lecturers.

Please note that the MA in Conference Interpreting courses are only open to students whose applications have been accepted. You must be registered in a programme at your home university that belongs to the European Masters in Conference Interpreting, and already have experience in consecutive and simultaneous interpreting. If you are interested in applying, please contact the FTI’s student exchange advisor for a list of documents you will need to provide.

Information session

New exchange students at the FTI are required to attend an information session a week before the semester begins. Attendance is mandatory.

The next information session will be held on

Monday 18 September 2017 from 10:15 am to 12:00 am
Room MR060 (ground floor),
Uni-Mail 

You will be given important information on the programme, courses and timetable, as well as instructions on how to register for courses and exams.

Housing

Due to the housing shortage in Geneva, we unfortunately cannot guarantee accomodation in student residences to all those who apply. We therefore encourage you to look at other housing options. For more information, see the "Housing" section of the International Affairs Office website.

International

Etudiants IN

Les étudiants qui souhaitent effectuer un séjour de mobilité à la Faculté de traduction et d'interprétation de l'Université de Genève doivent :

  1. s'assurer qu'ils remplissent les conditions d'admission,
  2. avoir été officiellement sélectionnés par leur université, selon les instructions du Service des Affaires internationales,
  3. remplir le formulaire d'inscription en ligne, en respectant les délais indiqués (selon que vous venez d'une université européenne ou hors Europe, les délais sont différents. Veuillez-vous référez aux indications figurant sur le site web du Service des Affaires internationales). ATTENTION : vous devez connaître le plan d'études qui sera approuvé par votre université d'origine avant de vous inscrire en ligne.

Pour toute information complémentaire, veuillez prendre contact avec le secrétariat des échanges de la FTI.

Informations générales

 

Les étudiants d'échange choisissent leurs cours en fonction de leur cycle d'études : des cours de Ba pour les étudiants inscrits en Ba dans leur université d'origine et des cours de Ma en traduction pour ceux qui sont inscrits en Ma dans leur université d'origine.

Toutefois, les étudiants inscrits en dernière année de Ba au moment de leur séjour à la FTI peuvent être autorisés à suivre des cours de «Traduction argumentée» dans le cadre de la Ma en traduction si les enseignants concernés estiment que leur niveau est suffisant.

ATTENTION :

Les cours de la Maîtrise en interprétation de conférence ne sont ouverts qu'aux étudiants dont le dossier a été accepté et qui sont déjà inscrits dans un cursus similaire dans leur université d'origine, pour autant que celle-ci soit membre de l'EMCI (European Masters in Conference Interpreting) et qu'ils aient déjà une expérience de l'interprétation consécutive et simultanée. Les étudiants intéressés s'adresseront au secrétariat des échanges afin de connaître la liste des documents à fournir.

Séance d'information

Les nouveaux étudiants d’échange en séjour d’études à la FTI sont conviés à une séance d’information la semaine qui précède le début du semestre. La participation à cette séance est obligatoire.

La prochaine séance d'information se tiendra le

lundi 18 septembre 2017 de 10h15 à 12h00
salle MR060 (rez-de-chaussée), Uni-Mail

Lors de cette séance, des informations importantes seront communiquées concernant l’organisation des études, le choix et les horaires des cours, ainsi que les procédures d’inscription aux cours et aux examens.

Logement

La situation actuelle du logement à Genève ne permet pas de garantir une place dans les résidences universitaires à tous les étudiants qui en font la demande. Les étudiants qui préparent un séjour d'études à l'Université de Genève sont vivement encouragés à chercher un logement en-dehors des résidences universitaires.

Pour plus de précisions, consultez la rubrique « Logement » sur le site du Service des Affaires internationales