Departments and Units

The Department of Translation

The Department of Translation is divided into six units, which correspond to the active languages taught at the Faculty: German, English, Arabic, Spanish, French and Italian. Each unit offers courses in translation from multiple passive languages (see the lists of language combinations for the BA and the MA programmes).

The Department offers the following degree programmes:

Within the BA and the MA in Translation programmes, students have the opportunity to study the following the following subjects: translation (including specialised translation), translation studies, active and passive languages (targeted training which prepares students for jobs in the multilingual communication market), intercultural communication, specialised communication, specialised topics (law and economics). Most of the other courses are provided by the Department of Translation Technology (TIM).

The MA in Translation is part of the EMT (European Master’s in Translation) network, which is coordinated by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Translation (DGT).

The curriculum fulfils both academic and professional objectives. The practical experience of our teachers, the internship opportunities available to our students and the Department’s contribution to the continuing education programmes offered by the Faculty all contribute to maintaining a close link between the Faculty and the relevant professional milieus.

There are numerous exchange agreements in place which facilitate student mobility. During the second year of the BA programme, students spend at least one semester at another university.

The Department supervises doctoral students and conducts research in translation studies (in various areas and from multiple perspectives) and in multilingual communication management.


Joint heads of department: Prof. Mathilde Fontanet and Prof. Sonia Halimi


Back to top

Département de traduction

Le Département de traduction compte six unités, qui correspondent aux langues actives enseignées à la Faculté : allemand, anglais, arabe, espagnol, français et italien. Chaque unité assure une formation en traduction à partir de plusieurs langues passives (voir les listes des combinaisons linguistiques du Ba et des combinaisons linguistiques de la Ma).

Le Département prépare les étudiants aux diplômes suivants :

Dans les cursus de Ba et de Ma en traduction, le Département assure les enseignements suivants : traduction (y compris la traduction spécialisée), traductologie, langues actives et passives (perfectionnement ciblé préparant aux métiers de la communication multilingue), communication interculturelle, communication spécialisée, spécialités (droit et économie). La plupart des autres enseignements sont assurés par le Département de traitement informatique multilingue (TIM).

La Maîtrise en traduction fait partie notamment du réseau EMT (Master européen en traduction), coordonné par la Direction générale de la traduction (DGT) de la Commission européenne.

Les activités d’enseignement ont une vocation à la fois universitaire et professionnalisante. Un lien étroit avec les milieux professionnels est garanti par l’expérience pratique des enseignants, par les possibilités de stages offertes aux étudiants et par la contribution du Département aux programmes de formation continue de la Faculté.

De nombreux accords d’échange favorisent la mobilité des étudiants. En deuxième année de Ba, ceux-ci passent au moins un semestre dans une autre université.

Le Département encadre des doctorants et mène des projets de recherche en traductologie (avec une pluralité de champs et de perspectives) et en gestion de la communication multilingue.


Co-Directeurs du département : Prof. Valérie Dullion et Prof. Sonia Halimi

top